Interview: Shelby

Today we’re joined by Shelby. Shelby is a phenomenal visual artist who also dabbles in fanart. She specializes in drawing things from the fantasy genre and is inspired by various things. Her work demonstrates a vivid imagination and an incredibly good eye. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

img_0612

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art usually is part of the fantasy genre, although I do lots of portraits of everyday people. Most of the time I will draw Elder Scrolls characters.

What inspires you?

I am inspired by Natalie Hall, Maya Brisa and other great artists as well as David Bowie. I find great beauty in nature; especially trees.

img_0694

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

My dad always used to draw and show me how to when I was little. I’ve always wanted to become an artist for the sense of freedom of self-expression and the opportunities to meet amazing people.

img_1013

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t always sign my work, but I do have this character I made up. I draw him quite often. His name is Vernox and is sort of my way of expressing myself.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I’d say that no matter what anyone says, you know yourself more than anyone else does, so don’t let anyone tell you you’re not asexual. Be who you are and what you desire and strive to be; not something others tell you to be.

img_1070

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Asexual. Plain and simple.

img_1072

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not very much, no. Although I have been called a plant quite a few times. Really the biggest part of it is that people don’t think it’s real and so are sometimes ignorant to such things.

img_1073

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

No one can tell you who or what you are. Be you. You are perfect. I used to struggle with the same thing and I can tell you that it gets better and you’ll soon have all the answers.

img_1074

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can find more about my work on my blog, wasitallinvain.

img_1075

Thank you, Shelby, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a comment