Interview: Bazile

Today we’re joined by Bazile.  Bazile is a visual artist from Russia and creates some incredibly stunning work.  My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

IMG

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Oh, nothing special! It’s mostly old men in eccentric clothes, most of them are people of color. I like drawing random poses which make no sense in real life.  I don’t do much fanart, most of my drawings include my original characters which have their long and complicated story. Mostly I draw Bazile, long-haired tall old man of color. He’s agender and asexual because of some reasons. It’s hard to describe my drawings. Some people call them ugly, some people call them unique. I call them drawings of old men.

What inspires you?

Old men! I love old men. When I’m outside I always look at beautiful old men walking on the streets or in subway. Also, I really like fashion, fashion photography and high fashion. I take tons of inspiration from random artists and “Jojo’s bizarre adventure” manga. Media has lots of ways to inspire. Also, I really like music and watching birds, especially pigeons. And old buildings.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I don’t think that I always wanted to be like that – I wanted to be a singer or something like that. I began to draw when I moved to Moscow and didn’t have any friends here. I started to be more awkward and spent a lot of time at home, drawing. Now, I’m just doing what I can. Drawing is the only thing I’m rather good at.

IMG_001

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I think no. I don’t like signing my works or anything (I still can’t create my signature for documents and other stuff).

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Just do what you want, dudes. Don’t think only about progress thing. If you don’t want to practice anatomy or backgrounds – go and draw what you want: anime, furries, people and etc. This shouldn’t be boring as your school homework. And if you want to have a progress thing – so, go! That’s only you to decide what to do, remember that. And sorry for my bad English!

IMG_1

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I don’t really know. I know that I’m asexual, but I don’t know anything about relationships. Aromantic or grayromantic probably.  (Also I’m agender, if anyone interested)

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I don’t really pay attention to those things. I don’t really care what fellow people think about me or my sexuality. I haven’t encountered anything like that in my family – they think that this is something personal and people are free to be whoever they are.

IMG_2

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

“People with impotence”

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I’m not really good at advising, but, remember, this is not your fault. Nothing like that can be fault. It’s part of you and you shouldn’t feel ashamed of that. You are who you are.

IMG_003

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

On my Tumblr! It’s http://oldmenandpigeons.tumblr.com/ If you know Russian, you can find me also here https://vk.com/oldmenandpigeons. And, finally my Instagram is pigeongelion. I love pigeons.

IMG_003_1

IMG_3

Thank you, Bazile, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

IMG_004

IMG_4

Leave a Reply

