Interview: Jordan Stephens

Today we’re joined by Jordan Stephens.  Jordan is an amazingly talented visual artist and has some incredibly beautiful works.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Anong

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art is digital, mostly headshots, and usually fandom or fantasy inspired. I use sketchy lines in my finished products as a stylistic choice, but occasionally do lineless pieces.

What inspires you?

Cute clothes, passersby around my college campus, crystals, nature, old buildings, that sort of thing.

giftstuck copy_edited

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Fandom got me into this mess and fandom got me to where I am now. Like, I remember being twelve or so, and being so elitist against deviantart. And when I finally got over myself, I was so inspired by what I found there, that I pushed myself to get to ‘that level’ (an imaginary concept that I’m still reaching for, but a good goal for improvement I guess.) My mom’s a really crafty woman, and I definitely got my creativity from her, and she was always the one to encourage me in my art.  I don’t think I’ve always wanted to be an artist so much as I’ve always made art, and I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t. I really got serious about wanting to be an artist in middle school or so, and was convinced I was going to go to SCAD straight out of high school and make bookoos of money. That did not happen.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Most everything I draw has my initials in it somewhere. It’s almost always this weird pointy thing separate from the main piece a bit.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t stop making art. Everything you do should reflect your passion in some small way. Be realistic about what you want from your art, because that’s what it is – YOUR art.

helios

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as demi-romantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really. My workplace and my school operate under an unofficial ‘Don’t Ask Don’t Tell’ when it comes to sexuality. That hasn’t stopped me from working with local and campus LGBT+ organizations to create ace-safe spaces in my community.

pallettest1

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it’s not real. I’ve had people I considered my best friends say to my face that they think I’m making it up, that I’ll ‘find the right person someday’ (If I fell in love with someone and sex was really important to them, I’d do it. That doesn’t mean I’d want it myself.) I don’t take kindly to people who are not only younger than me, but FAR more naïve implying that they know me better than I do.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Find fellowship, online or in your community. There’s strength in numbers, and that sense of community can really help you find where you stand.

sassyagented

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I’m on tumblr, ao3, deviantArt, and tsu as domesticsemelady; and I’m on NewHive as domesticseme.

Untitled-2

Thank you so much, Jordan, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

