Interview: Roberta “Iso” Singer

Today we’re joined by Roberta “Iso” Singer.  Roberta is a “Let’s Player” on YouTube.  She’s our first YouTuber on Asexual Artists, which is exciting.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

webcam-toy-photo65

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a YouTuber, I primarily work with Let’s Plays and have started working on some fun vlogging. I try to keep Iso Plays Games in line with either low cost gaming or retro games, also stuff that isn’t done a lot on YouTube. My primary gaming platform is PC and emulators.

What inspires you?

I’m heavily inspired by Markiplier, who’s a very positive individual and has motivated me to be creative with my commentary as well as to expand out to vlogging. Other YouTubers that got me inspired have been Pyschadelicsnake, someone I’ve been watching since he first started out on YouTube and the Game Grumps with their creative videos and editing have been a pretty big inspiration.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve been interested in video work since high school after being a part of a TV show and learning how to film and edit. I’ve always wanted to work with some form of art, be it video editing or writing. I spend my Novembers participating in NaNoWriMo with the hopes of hitting something I’d like to rewrite for publishing.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My theme since high school has always been skulls, I got really into a specific brand of headphones due to their good sound quality and it’s sort of stuck with me for a very long time. I’ve changed the skull imagery a bit, but it’s still there with pretty much all of my videos. Even on my channel header!

Picture 1

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Just jump in and do it. I don’t care what medium you’re pursuing. Just do it. Take the breath and put yourself out there. That’s what I did when I jumped into YouTube and it’s a slow process but it’s worth it because you’re doing something you want to do and hopefully love!

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’ve found I comfortably fit under straight asexual. I feel zero drive or sexual attraction, but I do find people to be pretty.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I thankfully have not encountered any prejudice or ignorance while doing things on YouTube. I have both my Tumblr and YouTube channel connected so that people have the opportunity to talk to me about it if it comes up. Which it doesn’t often.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That we’re cold unfeeling machines. Which isn’t true, asexuals can be really affectionate, but that’s all we really want or do, is affection!

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

There’s a post on Tumblr dealing with labels, “as any cat owner will tell you, getting in a box and being put in a box are two entirely different things.”

Don’t feel pressured to be a specific thing because someone says you are that thing, feel out what feels good to YOU. Because that’s who matters in this equation is you!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can see my YouTube channel at https://www.YouTube.com/channel/UC6uKih1lQtlNlpiLSvtmxvg

You can also party with me on my Tumblr at
http://isotoperuption.tumblr.com

And I’m on Twitter as @isotoperuption

Both Tumblr and Twitter will have updates about new videos and projects I’m working on!


 

Thank you so much, Roberta, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

