Interview: Audrey

Today we’re joined by Audrey.  Audrey is an incredibly talented visual artist and is currently a visual arts student.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My artwork consists of original characters, world ideas, multimedia works, and creatures involved in myth and legend. I pride myself in having a full understanding of the human body and its form. I am still a learning artist so I have a long way to go.

What inspires you?

Music. Many of my characters I have created are based off of a song I have recently heard or have just discovered.

IMG_4104

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I was initially inspired by my older sister when I was 6 years old (I started arting very late) so my skills on certain areas is still a work in progress. I actually want to be an animator and am currently studying in the Visual arts program at my CEGEP (college).

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I am very character oriented, I make the characters personality shown in their facial expressions.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Practice; don’t let people call you a child if you are showing them your sketches. Look from a different angle and work with what you have. Take pages to practice skills you need to polish. You will always improve.

IMG_4259

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am a Pan-romantic Asexual; I am romantically attracted to everyone regardless of gender.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I inform the person on what they said if it was offensive and give them a definition; most of the time I ignore the rude remarks.

IMG_4260

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That just because we’re non-sexual it means we can’t have proper relationships.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t let what people say about you get to you, embrace yourself and be proud of who you are and who you will become.

IMG_4261

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I do have a Tumblr account and an art blog. You can find it at http://cricketsart.tumblr.com/ (though it is still under construction at the moment so not a lot of art is being shown)

IMG_4262

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 10.24.06 PM

IMG_4263

Thank you so much, Audrey, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

