Interview: Marcos Galvão

Today we’re joined by Marco Galvão.  Marcos is from Brazil.  He has written some poetry in English but mostly writes in Portuguese.  He writes about an assortment of things and draws a lot of inspiration from his everyday life.  My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

10818947_1509997322582964_1784576415_n2

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I started writing when I was twelve or thirteen years old, but for my own sake. At first it was devised as a coping method, but I really enjoyed it, and when I was 16 I created a blog and started posting regularly. It was “ugly”, nowadays I can’t stand to see what I wrote back then, but I think it’s normal. I’ve been growing, and my art with me.

What inspires you?

A lot of things. When I started, my problems with people made me create imaginary worlds to escape. So I wrote mainly fiction and chronicles, as far away from reality as I could.

From a point I started facing my world, and now my struggles with borderline personality disorder are a main source of inspiration (I have these feelings so intense, and writing it all down helps A LOT). I also write inspired by moments I have with my friends, or alone, or with music.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

The possibility to create new worlds of my own devise. I’ve been reading compulsively since I was 7, and it amazes me the things people create. I haven’t, not always, but for a long time, now (It’s really unfortunate how hard it is for artists to persevere in life nowadays, at least around here).

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not that I noticed on my own, and I don’t know if it counts, but one friend tells me my work always feels “cozy”; it’s “familiar” to read, so I guess I have a style of writing, whatever it is.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

If you’re doing art, you’re not aspiring. You already ARE an artist. Art is so wide and there are few boundaries, and now and then we break those. Do what you like.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Nowadays I identify as demisexual. In the past I identified as aromantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

In the Human Sciences area people tend to be more open and accepting. But yes, I’ve found both prejudice and ignorance. I am willing to explain, but there’s so much you can do without getting offended and leaving the matter. I gain my space, slowly and steady.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Being a Portuguese native speaker there are differences in therms, I’ll explain as best as I can. “Assexual” would be us, and “Assexuado”, a therm in biology that refers to having no biological sex. People tend to use “Assexuado”, and the first things I normally do is explain that.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I have been struggling with it since I was 15, to be seen and recognized. It took me two years so I could be respected by my own friends. My advice is: doesn’t matter what people say, stand your ground, don’t be ashamed. And if it changes (as mine did), so be it, it’s no etched in stone.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can visit my Tumblr, [http://boney-king.tumblr.com], or my blog that’s exclusive to my poetry. Most of the work is in Portuguese, but I write in English now and then [http://sinestesiaverde.blogspot.com/]


 

Thank you so much, Marcos, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

