Interview: Dis

Today we’re joined by Dis.  Dis is an amazingly talented illustrator who creates just beautiful work.  They create both fan art and original work, both of which are stunning to look at.  My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

ironman (530x800)

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My work is mostly personal in nature, even if it’s considered fan art of something licensed, like comics or TV shows. I use my illustration as a means of presenting a way that I view a character, or how I relate to an overall theme in a movie, or a song. When it’s entirely original art, it is as in depth a look into my mind as someone can get.

What inspires you?

People and nature. There’s always enough bad news to half empty the cup of my soul, but honestly, there is so much good on this planet, so much to grow and learn from, so many connections that we as humans get every day, but often take for granted. So the people in my life certainly inspire me, but also people that create art, or music that inevitably affects me. And nature…well, nature will ALWAYS be there. I can’t think of a person alive who cannot be in awe of mountains and canyons and waterfalls and skies!

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always had a knack for drawing, and especially drawing my inspirations based off of learned mediums, and with enough perseverance and encouragement from my family, I really was blessed and lucky enough to flourish and stay focused on this career path. Even in my everyday sort of retail job, I am able to apply my creativity to almost everything I accomplish.

prophecy1 (581x800)

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Well, I’ve got my artist signature certainly! But otherwise, I feel that my style alone is what sets me apart, as it does for many artists. I don’t think I draw consistent subject matter enough that I could put some sort of motif into what I do.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I know it is so easy to just say this, but truly, do what makes you happy. Never be afraid to learn something new, always keep your mind open and ready to take in what the world wants to give, be it big or small. Push through, even when things are most difficult, and don’t ever be afraid to ask for help in those trying times. It will get you through, and trust me, you want to make it through, because boy, do you have something to show the world.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am autochorissexual. I have a below average, but apparent sex drive — it’s more confusing than enticing, and I don’t often enjoy it.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not in my field, no. I have met quite a bit of resistance to the acceptability of the idea, but mostly from strangers or family who either do not understand or refuse to understand. I’m not sure this would be considered ‘handling it’, but I choose my battles. Argue where it’s important, where it makes a difference to you personally, but don’t waste time on someone who isn’t willing to even take in what you’re saying as possible.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

If I had a penny for every time someone in my life told me, ‘You just need to meet the right person/a nice boy’, I’d be bloody rich!

z Dakhma (800x591)

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Again, be open to education! Learn from the experiences of others, but always be true to yourself. If you don’t feel comfortable doing something, don’t let pressure drive your decisions. Be safe, be comfortable, be happy. And if anyone gives you guff over it, kick ’em to the curb.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My website is the hub of all my work, so visit OhhhDis.com!

z Space (531x800)

Thank you so much, Dis, for participating in this interview and project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

