Interview: Kelcie

Today we’re joined by Kelcie.  Kelcie dabbles in both visual arts and writing.  She also cosplays on occasion.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Art is more of a hobby for me. I like to doodle and occasionally I write things. I’m a notorious non-finisher though so I have a bad habit of moving on to the next thing before really seeing the last thing through to the end.

What inspires you?

Oh, everything. Music. I listen to a lot of different music and I love finding new music to listen to. Movies. I am a huge movie buff. I love watching them and sharing them and then daydreaming about them if they particularly interesting universes. Books. Although I go through long periods of having little time to read I love all the different things people come up with. By far my favorite genres are science fiction and fantasy. Art. I love seeing what photographers and artists can do. My friends. Because they are amazing, creative, and supportive.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Well, to be honest my field is biology with an emphasis in marine biology. That’s what I always wanted to study since I was a little girl. However, I was drawing since long before I made that decision. I have no large aspirations for art but I enjoy it as a hobby and creative release and I’ve been doing it as long as I can remember.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Wow. That sounds really cool and I kind of wish I did do that now.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep doing what you do, love what you love. Life will work itself out. Life doesn’t end at 30, so don’t start feeling useless if you don’t get immediate job offers or financial security. It the words of someone who inspires me, the late Monty Oum, “Keep moving forward.”

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Asexual, aromantic.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Oh yes. For the most part I just keep to myself. In college I just made a point of subtly working into conversation how I “wasn’t really interesting in dating right now.” Which, uh, come to think of it, didn’t work super awesome actually. However over the years I’ve educated myself and become more open about it, at my newest job, if it comes up I’m open about it. So far everyone’s been really accepting, even if they don’t understand at first.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Definitely that I’ll get over it one day. Sexual people don’t understand lack of sexual desire, which I can understand because I don’t understand sexual desire. But as a result I’ve been told many times about the “one day” when I’m married with kids, even though I’ve stated I’ve had no desire for any such thing.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Be who you are. Educate yourself. The better you understand sexualities, the better chance you have at finding the niche where you fit. You can find other people that identify the same way you do, realize you’re not alone.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Well art and writing are just a hobby for me but I (and some art and writing) can be found at weirdobagel.tumblr.com. Mostly music I enjoy and gifs there, but hey, all are welcome.

Thank you, Kelcie for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

