Interview: Mikahel

Today we’re joined by Mikahel.  Mikahel is a young artist who specializes in character design and digital concept art.  My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

tumblr_njl3aismI31thmhe4o1_500

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I work digitally with concept art and character design, but my work is still only a hobby since I’m only 16. I’d like to work with art in the future and I hope I don’t end up in retail at a grocery store. I do admit I haven’t done a lot of good pieces yet because I’m still learning and I would like to feel I can do and finish a job before starting it.

What inspires you?

What I see around me, the smallest things can inspire or affect my art and I try to express this.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I did draw when I was younger, but at the age of 6 I suddenly stopped drawing and only got back into it at 13, so I have only just begun my journey in art.

I didn’t think about working with art once I got back to it, it’s always just been a hobby or a pass-time thing, but I have dreams now of working for animation or gaming companies with concept art or story-lining.

I like to create and think up stories and characters and one day I’d like to be part of creating something that will affect kids like me who aspire become something on their own.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I think the only consistent thing in my art is my watermark to be honest, haha.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I’m still a young aspiring artist myself, but I’d like to tell every kid like me that if you want something or you want something to happen you gotta work for it like everybody else, a skill like making art in any kind of way is just like learning a new language, you can’t learn it by only reading books or listening to other people speak it, you also gotta speak on your own.

tumblr_njioyzNSwS1thmhe4o1_500

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I don’t like sex, I’ve never felt a need or any desire for anybody that way.

I do like to discover things about myself and my body, but only in private. I’m comfortable with seeing sex on film or in art so I’m not against it, I would just like to not participate in any kind of way.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t yet no. Not a lot of people know I’m asexual outside of Tumblr.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I have a friend that thought asexuality meant you are distant from any kind of contact with another human and that you hate sex. I told them about what kind of asexual I am and that there are different kinds, also the difference between an ace and aro. They were very open about it and only curious.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s OK to try things and not being entirely sure or not wanting to label your sexuality is OK. There is no right or wrong way to live, do what makes you comfortable.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

They can ask me anytime, or if they just want to take a look I post most my art on Tumblr over at Lordbreadloaf, or on my DA at Doodtrot.

tumblr_nj0cwlOebS1thmhe4o1_500

Thank you, Mikahel, for participating in this interview and project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

