Interview: Charlotte Bird-Weber

*Warning:  a few images might be NSFW

Today we’re joined by Charlotte Bird-Weber.  Charlotte is an amazingly talented and passionate artist.  She specializes mostly in digital illustration and her enthusiasm is awesome.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Snapshot_20141026_1

lamb

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Well, it’s pretty gross a lot of the time.. I’m interested in drawing stuff in a way that doesn’t look smooth and pretty. Someone told me my style was very honest and I really liked that!

Mostly I draw things that I like though, fan art and dogs and stuff, with bright colours and weird aesthetics, sometimes religious iconography and body horror are fun things to explore through art too!

kart

What inspires you?

Music and photographs inspire a lot of my drawings, but mostly seeing the work of other artists inspires me! Nothing makes me want to draw and improve more than seeing great art. It’s part competitiveness, part admiration.

andres

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always sort of been an artist? I’ve been drawing since I could grip a crayon, but I got angry when people told me I should be an artist because I didn’t like them telling me what to do, I wanted to be a mechanic and an archeologist and a geologist and a psychologist and a chef… eventually I realised as hard as I fought it I’d be happiest making art!

doe

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My name at the moment. I’m thinking of designing something cool to stamp my art with though, thanks for reminding me B^)

angel

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Draw all the time everywhere on everything . . . carry a little notebook to scribble and write notes in . . . draw for yourself. If you want to draw a million sparkly, neon fursonas, do it… drawing what you like and drawing it all the time is the way to live!

celecactus

krilla

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m fully fledged ace for everyone except Alan Rickman.  If anyone can get in contact with him, send me a message B^)

In all seriousness though, I could probably tolerate sex with mild boredom for someone I knew well and trusted, but it’s not something I’d want otherwise, the thought kinda makes me nauseous to be honest  B^(

sunbeamboogaloo

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

In the field of art less so, mainly because I haven’t had much experience with the professional industry. In the field of life however… like, yikes man. People aren’t educated or even really introduced to it naturally, I only found out because of Tumblr, I would have spent my life feeling broken and confused otherwise. It’s so difficult to explain, and even within the LGBT+ community, people sometimes don’t consider our identities valid. Dating allosexual people can be a nightmare if they aren’t aware or accepting of asexuality, society teaches us that sex and romance must go hand in hand, that it’s the biggest and most important intimacy, and sex between people who are dating is always a given. It’s exhausting and makes it hard to accept your own identity sometimes.

sona

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The most common one I’ve seen is that ace people are always also aromantic. Ace people can want romance, and aro people can want sex, they can be but aren’t always paired. Take me for example, I don’t find anyone (besides Alan . . .) sexually attractive, but I fall in love literally every minute with everyone B^)

There’s a bunch almost tied for first place though; the that ace people don’t have sex drives, that ace people don’t sometimes have sex for reasons besides sexual attraction, that asexuality = virginity… like there’s so little education about us that misconceptions are everywhere, even in people who consider themselves aware.

somethingangstyforsummer

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

We’re mystical beings friend… your aceness gives you power…

And you’re not alone at all, there’s like, literal millions of us, and a lot of us are struggling to figure ourselves out too. It helps to talk to other ace peeps B”^)

lurbuk

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can head to my blog at sunguts.tumblr.com! I sometimes do requests and trades and commissions, and I’m always open to talk! I guess you could email me or Skype me too if you were really desperate to listen to me prattle on some more?

email: queen_doberman@hotmail.com
Skype: crispixkid

snep

Thank you so much, Charlotte, for participating in this interview and project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

