Interview: Jade P.N.G.

Today we’re joined by Jade P.N.G.  Jade is an amazingly talented visual artist from Spain.  She’s currently studying veterinary medicine and enjoys books, DIY craft, games, and writing.  Her pictures are incredibly striking to look at.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

IMG_20150302_185519

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I don’t remember when I started to draw, but my parents said before walk and speak. I started to focus my art in a more professional way very young, while being in the school I sold my first piece. I had many art teacher in my life, some of them wanted to change me radically and others where very good with me and made me improve to the level of today. My style is futuristic, post-apocalyptic, slightly comic style using the same tools and painting style like Impressionist artist from the old school.

ad___b__tyber_by_jadeitor-d5yrl8l

What inspires you?

Music, Films and more Music are my best friends while creating. Sometimes I just sit for there, thinking how to draw it, which what colors … And then a spontaneous draw appear in my hands. In other ways, Books, Games, even Nightmares, as Fan Art and maybe the most weirdos paints I’ve ever made. Then I have my hobbies and pets that I used to draw in a sketchbook or phone.
What got you interested in your field? Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have a deep scientific background, I’m interested in animals, medicine, physic, math and astronomy and I like to read and discuss about it whit other people.

I always wanted to be an artist, to be more professional and live of my art but it’s not easy, and when you are forced to draw things you dislike you begin to lose you love to your art. So I managed myself as a freelance, drawing as a work and hobby and then studying hard to be a good Vet.

ad___alekandr_by_jadeitor-d5i9zml

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Other people call it “Spanish lights,” sure because I’m Spanish, but I just like play with natural light and give it the style like my favorite hero Rembrandt. Sometimes when I paint big pieces of art I like to hide short texts, cats, rats, birds, symbols, even Wally or whatever I want.

happy_halloween_2013___go_to_the_tower_____by_jadeitor-d6svxhj

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Time, Patience and Will. Is also helpful when you have good materials, but first of all a paper and a pencil is enough. Then, documentation, there are unlimited ways to express yourself. And you need to be crazy, not much, just a little bit.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m the Double Mortal Combo AA, or this is how I call it, Aromatic Asexual. I never felt any kind of attraction, I made sure that I wasn’t hetero or gay and this is how I started my journey till find what I am. Then my relationship as friend can be in a high spectrum. Does Pansocials exist? Because I don’t care and I don’t judge people.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field? If so, how do you handle it?

I fell weird and annoying when people ask me if I already have a boyfriend, it could be better if they say couple because it could be also a lady, but not, they think that everyone is straight and when people are not flexible enough I just said, I’m busy.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

How can I live without sex, How can I be “celibate,” How I can control myself and not scream like an over attached fangirl to a handsome boy. I handle this much better, it’s even very funny.

What advice would you give to any asexual individual out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

First, you are not broken, is the most important step, then you would fell in a better mod.

Second, congratulations, you had found your sexuality and now you will be happier.

Then, if you have issues, talk with others people even with others you don’t know, and share and fix your problems.

ad___hati_by_jadeitor-d7i6vk5

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

If you Google Jadeitor, you would find me, is my artist nickname. I have many places, but here’s all my work from the last years.

DeviantART: www.jadeitor.deviantart.com
Tumblr: www.jadeitor.tumblr.com

Thank you so much, Jade, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

