Interview: Grace

Today we’re joined by Grace.  Grace is a writer with a BA in creative writing and they’re currently working on a post-apocalyptic novel where the main character is an asexual homoromantic woman.  They sent along a sample of their work and it’s quite intriguing.  Aside from writing, Grace also works with textile arts.  My thanks to them for taking them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

tumblr_myrfasZy0f1qkjrb6o2_500

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m primarily a writer of really absurd things, mostly fiction, mostly horror. I really like the format of screenplay writing, too, though I’ve done less of that. And I’m a big fan of tweets. I love the restriction of Twitter and then seeing what people can do with it. I also consider myself a textile artist: I knit and cross-stitch, which I’m going to try and cash in on to raise money for top surgery.

What inspires you?

Weird shit. Monsters, primarily. I like to look at monsters and monstrous things, but not in a traditionally horrific way. I definitely write horror, but I like to make the monsters understandable in some kind of way. I’d rather write their story than write a human’s viewpoint of engaging with the monster. Other than that, I run an ‘aesthetic’ blog of things that inspire me – it’s ended up being mostly shapes and colours.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Well, I originally wanted to be a werewolf, but that never came through. Writing is something I think everyone does naturally, but I started putting mine out when I was 12 on quizilla.com [R.I.P.]. It was mostly original writing, too. I also wrote a 100-page InuYasha fanfic for my friend before I was aware of fanfiction and I kept it in this horrible green binder.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

In university, I had a dolphin in every story I wrote. I don’t do that anymore, but at the time it really helped me with the monotony and depression of being in school and having people tell me my writing was bad.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Make what you like. Try to enjoy what you make.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m aromantic and asexual, even though I’ve been in a few romantic relationships that were also sexual. But that was because I felt I had to be normal and fit in – I really wish I hadn’t felt that way now. I’m also agender – triple A!

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I’m writing a novel with an asexual main character and submitted part of it for a workshop in university. Just imagine a room of 25 university students trying to understand a character who doesn’t want or need sex.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That ace people are prudes, are boring, that they just need to ‘get laid,’ that they’ve just never had ‘good sex,’ that they’ll change their mind when they meet the right person, etc. That kind of pointless rhetoric is way too abundant.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

People who say “everything is about sex” are probably sad and boring and think the world is flat and they’ll fall off the edge if they sail too far.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My personal blog: beastheads.net
My twitter: @cloudbodies
Etsy: beastknits

Thank you, Grace, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

