Interview: Autumn

Today we’re joined by Autumn.  Autumn’s a young visual artist who has an amazing amount of talent.  Her use of color is wonderful and I greatly enjoyed looking at the paintings she sent to go with her interview.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

2015-01-16_11.21.19

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I do many things but I really enjoy Surrealism. Also I like doing traditional media (Acrylic and Watercolor) and Digital art. I just like to try new things and explore new ideas. I also like using color to represent emotion.

What inspires you?

I’m inspired mostly by other Artists. Seeing others ideas and creativity usually sparks something in me to create something for myself. Also I take from my other interests such as Astronomy.

2015-01-29_21.11.31

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I got seriously interested in Art from my friend back in 6th grade (rivendell-rose). They really pushed me to start drawing almost every day even though I wasn’t very good at the time! And I’ve always enjoyed drawing but wasn’t very passionate about it till Middle School.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Honestly I’m an open book. My art might have a deeper meaning but the only signature I use is to sign my piece.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Draw till your fingers fall off. You might think you suck now but drawing isn’t just an innate ability everyone is graced with. You have to work for it. Just suck until you make something you like. And if you’re drawing and you hate it, keep working on it till you like it! It’s the most rewarding experience to make a piece that not only other people enjoy but you do as well!

2015-03-08_19.47.27

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Panromantic Asexual is what fits me best at the moment. But things can always change!

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Regarding my art not really. Most of the people who look at my art don’t even realize I am part of the ace spectrum.

image

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That because I am asexual I have a sexual disorder. If I had a disorder I would take medicine to fix it. I’m perfectly happy with my orientation.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Just know that you are not broken! It can be so confusing to try to figure out your sexuality. I still struggle sometimes too.  It’s totally natural and you can identify however you please. Just because you don’t experience sexual attraction doesn’t mean you can’t love or be loved!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I’m thinking about starting an art blog but until then my main blog is autumnreiny (http://autumnreiny.tumblr.com/).

IMG_173454992767710

Thank you so much, Autumn, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

