Interview: T.J. Trevino

Today we’re joined by T.J. Trevino.  T.J. is an exciting up and coming artist who shows an amazing amount of talent.  She’s an art teacher and is currently earning a Bachelor’s degree in art.  If her work is anything to go by, she has a very bright future in the field.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

blindingwtf

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art’s a pretty important thing to me! It’s largely experimental, considering I haven’t quite found a style that I think is really consistent in either linework or color. I’m still learning and growing and playing with different techniques so my art is constantly changing. Although I will say I enjoy drawing animals and animal hybrid creatures more than outright humans. I’ve got a fondness for lizards and one of my original characters is a pretty big example of that. You’ll see a ton of art of her in various styles on my blog.

What inspires you?

Gosh, a lot of things. TV, movies, comics, other artists. I’m constantly drawing inspiration from a ton of different sources, although they are, for the most part sources that dwell within the realm of fantasy and sci-fi. I like drawing things that don’t exist in the real world more often than not because it just makes things a lot more interesting for me. Things that I can see day to day don’t generally tend to pique my interest, so I look for things out of the ordinary. THOSE are the things that get my attention and are things I like to look at when creating my art.

cleanup

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve probably wanted to be an artist since I was in middle school? I toyed with the idea for a long time and a few times I veered away from it (entertaining ideas like becoming a dancer, a rollercoaster engineer, a voice actor, and a writer) but ultimately I always came back around to creating art. It’s been a hobby of mine for a long time and while I haven’t really hammered down pressure onto myself to pursue it as a true career, I’m constantly attempting to improve. I can’t remember exactly what it was that got me into art. It might’ve just been a good way to express myself back when I wasn’t entirely sure how to. It’s always been an outlet for me, or at least one of them. So it’s good to always go back to that original purpose sometimes.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

At the moment, I really just sign my nickname “TJ” (which incidentally isn’t my birth name, but is definitely my chosen name) and the year. It’s simple and the way I do it is, hopefully, recognizable. Other than that, there’s no real recurring theme or symbol in my work. It’s all very chaotic and disorganized right now.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Just keep drawing. Even when you don’t feel like it or even when you don’t feel like your art is any good. Honestly, this really goes for ANYONE who wants to work in a creative field. Just keep creating. It’s essential, even if you go through periods where you think EVERYTHING you make is trash. Also keeping old work is very good too. It helps to be able to look back and see the difference in where you WERE to where you are now. You can see visible improvement much easier that way than when you’re just looking at your art from a smaller time span like a month or two. Don’t be afraid to try new techniques and experiment. Even if it’s weird. Just keep doing it. Never stop creating!

drunk

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m a hetero-romantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Definitely. There’s a lot of misconception surrounding asexuality and honestly I’m pretty sure every ace will go through it at some point. It’s really just something that you have to combat with a hard shell as well as good information. People will eventually get the point if you’re persistent enough.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I’ve had multiple people who, I’ve talked to about my asexuality, have pointed out that I “just haven’t met the right person” or “someone must have hurt you”. Both are statements that I definitely don’t appreciate, as well as the assumption that “there are no guys out there willing to go without sex”. It’s veeeery tiring.

manolo

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Do a lot of research! It took me a good while of digging through informational sites to really understand what it was that I was feeling and experiencing and honestly you can never learn too much about different sexualities. Not to mention that sexuality is very fluid, and the more you know about the different aspects and possibilities, the better off you might be if, at some point, you decide that you feel more demisexual or pansexual or whatever it is that you are feeling! And secondly, you’re not alone. Even when it seems like literally EVERYONE is the opposite of you, I guarantee you, there’s individuals out there you feel just like you do. Don’t be afraid to reach out to people like you and figure out more about yourself in the process. Everyone goes through similar things when discovering who they are, so never feel like you’re behind the curve when it comes to that kind of thing.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I really only post my art on Tumblr (pascalls.tumblr.com), but a lot of it goes onto my RP blog as well (cdwalker.tumblr.com) since a lot of my art is of my OC. I also do commissions and sometimes I’ll do requests! I do offer some merchandise of my work on Society 6 as well. (http://society6.com/pascalls) I plan on putting up more stuff for sale soon, so be on the lookout if you’re really into my goofy little pieces~

punpunvent

Thank you so much, T.J., for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

