Interview: S. C. Persson

Today we’re joined by S.C. Persson.  S.C. has a very interesting and unique style.  She’s a woman of horror, a genre I have an infinite amount of fondness towards, and finds a lot of beauty in darkness.  The images she sent to go with her interview are dark but incredibly interesting to look at.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

11056804_1054959337852563_1430516416_n

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Well, I’m a visual artist — I paint and draw.  My art is very important to me.  Since I was young, I was riddled with a dark sense of creativity, and always found it incredibly satisfying to let it out on paper for other people to see.  The genre of my art is, I’d say, in the morbid/horror region, though I work outside of that as well!

What inspires you?

To put it briefly, everything and anything.  Specifically, I’m inspired by other artists, be it through music, visual art, photography, literature, etc.  Another person’s creativity fuels me.  Another inspiration is nature.  Although I don’t draw much nature in itself, I consider it nature’s art, and it ties in with what I just explained.

26b053a49313f18565c1b81eaf7588b1

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always loved drawing, and creating my own things.  I hated coloring books when I was little because it felt like plagiarism.  I was always investing my time in trying to come up with my own characters, my own stories, anything original that I could take full pride in.  So I guess it’s all just come naturally to me—I feel like I was meant to create.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My signature is kinda cute!

Signature

This is the best photo I have of it offhand, but as my alias is S. C. Persson, I write S. C. Per and add a sun at the end.  Originally, I just shortened my last name and added the sun because my nickname is Sunny, and I wanted to incorporate it.  My boyfriend later on pointed out that it happened to work perfectly with my surname.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep going.  Seriously, keep going.  You’re not too young.  You ARE good enough.  Don’t quit because you see other artists that are better than you.  There will always be someone better.  Practice as much as you can, and put your heart into it.  The rest falls into place, I promise.  Never give up for any reason.  Keep going.

555598_686825974679980_1055201363_n

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m full-blown asexual!  I’m also panromantic, if you were curious.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

In the art field, no, I can’t say I’ve dealt with much of it.  That said, there is a lot of sexual themes in a lot of art, and that can make me uncomfortable.  I don’t blame artists for appreciating that subject, I’m just not into it.

10530763_873535889342320_3879971310857696933_n

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it isn’t an “orientation.”  I hear a lot of “so you don’t like sex, why do you need a label for that?”  People don’t get the difference between asexuality and a low sex drive, and that’s a huge problem.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You are not broken, and there is NOTHING wrong with you.  I stress it so much because that is the single most important thing to remember.  That, and you are relevant.  Don’t let anyone tell you that your (a) sexuality (esp if you’re demi or gray) isn’t a thing, or that you just want attention.  At the end of the day, sex is nothing more than an activity.  You wouldn’t torture yourself over disliking skiing or sewing, so why do it with sex?  It’s not the end of the world.  I mean it.

10592473_919038188111346_2035407189_n

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have a website, mutationart.com that you can check out!  It’s linked with mutationart.tumblr.com (it’s actually the same thing), so you can follow me and keep up with what I’m doing. 🙂  I also have a facebook page, which is just facebook.com/mutationart.  I’m working on getting more and more active on both, so stay tuned for that!!

10959509_1013173642045210_8906396095059726443_n

Thank you so much, S.C., for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

