Interview: Margo Csipo

Today we’re joined by Margo Csipo.  Margo is an incredibly talented and extremely versatile visual artist.  She’s does a bit of everything and works in quite a few mediums.  Her passion and enthusiasm is quite apparent in her interview.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

IMG_1806

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I am a varied artist and designer. I oil paint, draw, sculpt, design stuff (like furniture and shoes) and maybe some other things . . . Color is hella important to most of my work AND material. Yo. Material controls my work almost as much as I do. Subject-wise it’s really what I’m into at the moment. I mostly work from the figure though b/c I love me some of that human form.

What inspires you?

That moment when I’m almost asleep, Films (I’m super into old samurai movies right now . . . ), paintings/sculptures by old masters, haiku, Japanese textile patterns, Soviet propaganda posters, mid-century American design, Bauhaus design, salmon steaks, seeing your own breath in the cold,!!! Packaging on the stuff I buy from the Asian market!!! Anything I can see/touch really? I love stuff. I’m a stuff lover. A big ol’ materialist . . .

IMG_2575

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

When I was a kid I wanted to be some kind of musician, but preforming makes anyone anxious. I really don’t think I could do it now. I think the stars just kinda aligned in my universe. Visual arts is a great place for me. I can be vague, intelligent, self-indulgent, or anything else I wanna be with what I make and someone out there is gonna like it. I also just like making stuff. I like the physical evidence of being an artist/designer.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I mean . . .  I’ve got plenty of personal clichés . . .  I like swords/knives, drawing and painting rosy cheeks and full, slightly parted lips . . .  but that’s just part of my style I guess . . .  I’m inspired by the aesthetics of foreign languages so I use a lot of non-English text?

IMG_3529

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep on doing it. I’ve heard it too much and you’ve probs heard it too much, but if it’s been said that much it probably has some truth in it. ALSO! Experiment! Try out new media, styles, sizes, subjects, disciplines, themes, moods- just do something new until you’ve found something perfect. And then try something else!

lamp on off

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Asexual aromantic

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

It’s mostly that some people just don’t understand. I usually only tell when people ask or if they’re trying to ask me out. If they don’t understand or are really tactless about it, I kinda slowly drift away from them. That’s just the way I work I guess . . .

ok

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That “I’ll meet the right person” B.S. I’ve never felt the need for a relationship that is romantically or sexually charged before so why would some rando person change that? It’s ridiculous people think that’s real.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Doubting yourself is natural, but if you identify as something, you identify with something. It’s as easy as that. You decide what you are because you know yourself best. You don’t have to explain why you are the way you are to anyone.

perception_clouds_by_strangerthanever-d5r9vcn

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My art blog @ http://csipo.tumblr.com/
Behance @ https://www.behance.net/csipo

Scan 2

snowmineposter

Thank you so much, Margo, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

