Interview: Deven

Today we’re joined by Deven.  Deven is a wonderfully talented visual artist who specializes in pencil drawings.  He has also dabbled in digital art.  My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

ive been missing you to death

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a visual artist, mainly traditional, pencil and paper stuff. I occasionally do digital work, but mainly in the form of pixels. It’s kind of a hobby turned passion turned possible career path, and something that’s undeniably become a part of who I am.

What inspires you?

A lot of things really; music is a big one, other artists, film and television, Tumblr has been a huge source. I tend to absorb inspiration from various places.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I don’t think I’ve always really been an artist. I grew up scribbling on things, but I didn’t start taking it seriously until the end of elementary school probably? There were other kids in my class who were way better than me, and it kind of drove me into wanting to get better, and I think I really started my “artistic endeavor”, if you will, then.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

No, I don’t think I have one.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I’m still pretty young and aspiring myself, actually. The thing that’s really coming to mind though, is just, do what makes you happy. It sounds kinda cheesy, but I don’t know. Draw the things that make you happy, or draw things to make yourself feel better. Do it because you genuinely derive joy from it, that seeing the process of gradually getting better at it makes you smile.

rhys

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Currently, autochorissexual. (I do experience romantic attraction, but I’m still playing around with the exact label for it.)

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I mean, I have dealt with it to some degree in general. Being that I’ve only identified as ace for a little over a year and been out about it just a tad shorter, it’s not come up as much. Still, I tend to either brush it off or try to educate people about it, so long as they’re willing to listen. I think I get way more from being trans, but I’ll give it time.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it’s synonymous with aromantic. Or maybe that’s just the one that makes me the most upset.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You know, just take it in stride. You don’t owe it to anyone to commit to one label for any amount of time. Take however long you need to figure it out, use whatever means you feel necessary, change labels as often as you need. It’s not always going to be easy to pinpoint, and that’s alright.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have some stuff on my art tag (http://g-opher.tumblr.com/tagged/art), but the best place would probably be my deviantart (http://g-opher.deviantart.com/)

the rip tife

Thank you so much, Deven, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

