Interview: Victoria Marina Rojas

Today we’re joined by Victoria Marina Rojas.  Victoria is a fantastically talented illustrator.  She’s an illustration major and plans to be a children’s book illustrator.  If her art is anything to go by, Victoria has a very bright future ahead of her.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

ACCORDION_PLAYER

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I am an illustration major with a goal to become a children’s book illustrator!  I especially love drawing monsters!  I usually draw on Photoshop CS6, with the lasso tool and pen tool.  It’s super fun to draw with shapes and experiment with colors!

What inspires you?

Different things!  Stop motion, Cubism, old illustrated books, etc.  Book illustrations I really love, horror and fantasy.  I aspire to be a book illustrator myself, especially a children’s book illustrator.  Book illustrations inspire me so much, their and use of visual storytelling, composition, and colors (when an illustration has them) is just so fascinating and gorgeous.

DEL

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve been drawing since I was in pre-school, I think.  My interest grew as I got older.  The more I looked at book illustrations, the more my desire to become an illustrator grew.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Nope.  Sometimes I just write my nickname (Vicky) and year.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Practice is great.  Challenging yourself is good as well from studying life and references.  However, I hear a lot of the “Draw everyday until your hand falls off, even if you’re reluctant!”  But I must say: Take breaks when you can!!  I’m not opposed to drawing everyday, but some just can’t do it.  And that’s OKAY.  Everyone progresses at their own pace, some fast, others slowly.  It can REALLY stress many artists rather than motivate them if they force something they’re not comfortable doing at the moment.  Take your time.  If you need a break or just don’t want to draw for the day, then that’s perfectly fine.  Art blocks will happen, too.  Drawing can be frustrating but that’s ok.  Set a comfortable pace for yourself and rest when you can.  Whatever your pace is, you’re still an artist.  You got this.

Art is a valid path in life, as well.  Many will think art is a pointless thing to go into and that your future is doomed if you wish to create for a living.  That is NOT correct.

Also, explore different mediums!  If you’re not comfortable with one, you may be with another.  And who knows, you may find multiple ones you love!!

HIM

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m an Aromantic Asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

No, because nobody asks about my sexuality.  Unless it’s a topic we’re discussing, or if they simply ask, I wouldn’t bring it up.  Though I have spoke to a few who were curious, they still understood and accepted afterward and that’s good.  My friends are accepting as well.  More acceptance is a must.

MR_SMILES_ILLUS

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I haven’t met any who gave me trouble for being an aromantic asexual since I don’t get asked about my asexuality.  I still see misconceptions online, though, even If not directed at me personally.  A lot think that having sex is a must, and that is not true.  There’s nothing wrong for not wanting it, or not wanting a partner in general, whether sexual or romantic.  It’s also not good to think that asexual and aromantic are the same thing, or that asexuals don’t love at all.  I’m perfectly happy with no partner, but that doesn’t mean other aces aren’t interested in romantic relationships!  Resources and research are friends.

PIRATE

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

If ANYONE says you’re weird, unnatural or broken, they’re wrong.  You are awesome.

Questioning your orientation and where you are on the spectrum is totally fine, and it’s ok if your orientation shifts over time.  You know you best.  And whoever dares to shame you for who you are, they are gross jerks.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Mainly here on tumblr!

http://victoriamrojas.tumblr.com/

RARITY

Thank you so much, Victoria, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

