Interview Sebastian Duff

Today we’re joined by Sebastian Duff.  Sebastian is a wonderfully talented visual artist who does illustration and tattoo design.  That’s another first for Asexual Artists.  His work is absolutely stunning as you’ll soon see.  My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Picture 1

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

So I am an illustrator/ tattoo designer. I draw designs for people or tweak pre-existing designs for people.

What inspires you?

Oh my, we’ll do you know what? I’m still trying to figure that one out. Whatever comes out on paper really doesn’t have much behind it (or at least I think so) my art is about lacking and ridding myself of mental clutter. I can’t draw if I feel pressure or if I don’t want to. I guess you can say my inspiration is the lack of that in itself.

Picture 2

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Well, long story short, I drew like everyone else has. When I started to try at it in my teens I wasn’t making the progress I wanted and it was incredibly frustrating. Especially when I lived under the shadow of two very talented artists. It wasn’t until earlier last year that I realised when I stop trying, stop overworking my brain, stop thinking basically is that the art created itself properly. I’m not sure what got me into this, honestly I’m just rolling with it.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Oh boy, that’s a secret.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Chill, turn that switch off in your brain. Whatever your hand puts out on paper is not your final form. Your brain knows what to do just give your hands time to catch up.

Picture 3

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Asexual

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Mainly family because they’re silly. Relationships too. It’s complicated right now.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Ah um, I don’t register any actually, honestly? I dunno

Picture 4

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Hey it took me six long aching years to accept and understand my lack of sexuality. Time is like currency; don’t waste it on things you don’t want to spend it on. That means denial.

Plus being romantic or sensual or even platonic with someone is just as good if not better. It’s like a superpower because we’re invisible.

Picture 5

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Facebook.com/ITryToArts that’s my Facebook page. And the only place you can find my work.

Picture 6

Thank you so much, Sebastian, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

