Interview: Alison

Today we’re joined by Alison.  Alison is an amazingly talented visual artist who does digital drawing and fanart.  She has a very interesting style that makes for some eye-catching imagery.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Anxiety Taking Over

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art is sort of like a hodge podge of everything I love and everything that piques my interest. So I guess there is a little bit of everything in my art

What inspires you?

Most of my inspiration comes from friends because they are all so creative and that drives me to keep going and continue to be creative

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always wanted to be an artist, but what really got me interested was some of my favorite cartoons and my mom’s friend’s son who was an animator for Disney. I knew then that was what I wanted to do, I wanted to be an animator. But as I work toward that I’m still practicing with digital work.

kitsune2 bigger

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not really my signature is really just my first and last initial.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep practicing and trying different things art wise, then you’ll improve and have a wider range of things you can do

rsz_ap_photos_001

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as a demiromantic asexual

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I have yet to encounter any prejudice or ignorance

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The most common misconception that I have encountered would be that I just haven’t met the right person yet

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

For the longest time I felt like I was broken because I didn’t feel like everyone else did and I know that a lot of other asexual individuals have felt the same. I would want them to know that you aren’t broken and it is completely normal to be asexual just like any other sexual orientation

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Deviantart (http://amj-dreamer.deviantart.com/)
Tumblr (http://kpop-fangirl-epicness.tumblr.com/)

rsz_ap_photos_016

Thank you so much, Alison, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

