Interview: Emrys

Today we’re joined by Emrys.  Emyrs is a visual artist and a writer.  They’re quite active on Tumblr.  My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Well, my visual art is mostly just doodles right now, and my writing is really sporadic and random, but I’m working on that.

What inspires you?

What inspires me is mostly things I hear and see in the world.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve been both writing and drawing for a really long time. I can’t remember exactly what got me into either of them. But I can tell you that I’ve wanted to be a writer for about as long as I’ve been writer, even though I’m a hobbyist right now.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

In my visual art I put my signature, but I’m not sure if that’s what you’re talking about. Other than that, no.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Do the thing. A lot. You’ll improve, but only if you do the thing. A lot. Trust me.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m asexual. Demiromantic, if you need to know.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

None in the field, no.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Probably that it doesn’t exist.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s okay to not feel sexual attraction! You’re not broken or anything, you’re just different, and that’s okay. You’re not alone.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

They could ask me, I guess.

Writing blog: http://emryswritesshit.tumblr.com/
Main blog: http://eyesofsoysauce.tumblr.com/

Thank you, Emrys, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

