Interview: Michelle

Today we’re joined by Michelle.  Michelle is a wonderfully talented visual artist who works in a couple mediums.  She used to be into comic books but it sounds like she’s more focused on videogame design.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

(Warning:  there is some nudity in one image in this interview)

885578_10153460305197766_5501037517954718995_o

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Well, I originally majored in doing comic books because when I was younger I thought I was too dull minded and unable to work in the video game industry (Also I am a woman). However, I’ve never been able to fall in love in the process of making comic books. Recently, I decided to go back into trying to make video games- because I know I am dull minded and being a woman shouldn’t stop me from doing what I want.

What inspires you?

Change. Currently, I find the world a dire place to live in but people actively fighting for their rights and the rights of others inspires me to draw and live.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I enjoy creating inspiring characters purely from my imagination. I love sharing the character I care deeply about to other people. Creating something from nothing is such a beautiful thing.

It’s amazing that in video games you can walk around in the world you created in your mind.

Agony
Agony

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Sometimes I sign my work as “MAN.” Because those are my initials and I think it’s kind of clever.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Do what you love. Don’t ever live your life for someone else but yourself.

I’ve lived 26 years of my life doing comics thinking that was the only option available to me then I refused to quit because I had dedicated so many years to the art. You always have opportunities. It’s never too late.

Also if you don’t find a career in your field and end up having to work somewhere else to make ends meet, your not a failure. You’re just walking a different path then others around you.

Kpop
Kpop

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

No idea. I rarely find other people attractive in a romantic or sexual way- if ever. Yet, there are times I day dream about having sex with very specific people. Slowly I am starting to realize I am attracted to a very specific type of person- yet, I am not sure I am in the place to specify what that means.

I am sort of flowing through the spectrum at the moment and have no desire to define it.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Yes. All of the time. Constantly. I’ve been asked “What’s the point in being in a relationship if you don’t have sex,” “How do you know unless you try? (sex)” “Maybe you haven’t found the right person.” Most people don’t even believe asexuality is an orientation and shouldn’t be represented in the LGBT+ community. I am not even open about my sexuality to most people I talk to- including my therapist.

How do I handle it? Not very well. I constantly feel alone, alienated from others- that I’ll never be spirited close to anyone because I struggle feeling that intimate with others in THAT kind of way. I want a family but struggle with understanding how I’ll be able to do that because I can’t imagine raising a kid alone on my income. Who will understand my situation?

I am also only attracted to very specific people and I assume I’ll probably never find that person- I am paranoid I am just too picky. It’s not like I can CHOOSE who I am attracted to.

Sex and romance is so heavily implemented in our media that there are very few songs, shows, or movies that I relate to.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it can be “fixed” by meeting the right person. That asexuals don’t enjoy sex. Asexual can enjoy sex they may just not desire it.  Some asexual also masturbate, yet, it’s ok if you don’t.

I related heavily to the Doctor from Doctor Who, Sherlock from Sherlock, Abed from community but…you know how that went down.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I don’t have much advice. The advice I have to give I don’t even believe in. I suppose just fight for yourself, fight for life, and hold onto the people in your life who believe you when you say your asexual.

Yet, be aware that sexuality is not set in stone. It can be a river, flowing, traveling and ending up in rivers, ponds, or oceans you never anticipated it would be. Just continue on your path finding out who you are and hold onto that.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My tumblr: http://o-dream.tumblr.com yet don’t be too disappointed when I don’t upload artwork. I keep move of my drawings to myself and don’t care to post it online.

Weeaboo
Weeaboo

Thank you so much, Michelle, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

