Interview: Logan

Today we’re joined by Logan (also known as Dekpi).  Logan is a fantastically talented visual artist.  He does a bit of everything, though he specializes in 3D modeling.  The images he sent to go with his interview are really cool and eye-catching.  My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I generally do multiple media types when it comes to art, but my favorite is 3D modeling, (because that’s the one I’m best at, I think.)

I also do digital art, sprites, I’ve made games, and I make the soundtracks for them.

What inspires you?

Life inspires me.  Events, something funny that happens, a movie, just things in general.  I draw things and ideas that appeal to me.

The music things though is sort of another story though, harder to describe what inspires me like that. I just make what I think sounds nice. As for lyrics though, if there ever are any, I write them about how I feel or I write stories with them.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve been drawing for as long as I remember, honestly.  Since I was a little kid. Started out drawing traditional stuff, but then when I got into using computers, almost all of it went digital. I’ve always wanted to be an artist, but what type of artist I’ve wanted to be switches all the time, which is why I do so much stuff.  I’m starting to think I like all of them and should stick to multimedia.

2

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not particularly, but I used to hide my signature in there, which was a combined L and an R, which are my real initials. (I’ve gotten lazy lately though, so I’ve just been bluntly signing them with my tumblr handle.)

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t stop drawing, even if you think someone else’s is better. First of all, it’s not true, don’t compare your art to anyone else’s because it’s yours, not there. All art is perfect, because you can’t ever replicate it. Just keep practicing, and maybe you’ll like your own art too.

3

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Panromantic Ace. And I’m a full blown ace too, the idea of those sort of intimate actions disgust me. However I would love to date anyone of any gender, but I have yet to find someone who would be willing to go out with me minus those extra tidbits. You know.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Ehh, not really sure what to say about that because only my close friends know that I’m an Ace really.  My family doesn’t even know what that is, so I’ve kept quiet.

I’ve heard jokes like “Do they asexually reproduce??” or “Do they…Have sex with themselves??” and that sort of stuff.  Haha, laugh it off!  When the zombie apocalypse starts from a sexually transmitted disease, we’ll see who’s laughing then?

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I think most people who aren’t an ace just don’t grasp the concept.  Being an ace myself, it’s kind of reverse roles.  I can’t even imagine what it would be like to be sexually attracted to someone else.  It’s a mystery!

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Pff, switch ‘em like you’re trying on clothes to see which sweater fits the best.  Who cares if it weirds anyone else out.  “But I thought you like (this) and (this).”  Well, now you don’t, isn’t that something!

In all seriousness though, find something that actually explains you. If it takes a while for you to find it, no problem. If you never find it, no problem. Labels are just words to identify what you are, they don’t change what you are.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My tumblr or my soundcloud, probably. I’m not as active on my soundcloud, though: https://soundcloud.com/data-syndrome

I had a deviantart before, but I’ve been cleaning it up getting ready to get rid of it because I rarely use it.

Also on Tumblr: www.dekpi.tumblr.com

4

Thank you, Logan, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

