Interview: Atiya

Today we’re joined by Atiya.  Atiya is an incredibly talented visual artist who has a fascinating style.  She describes it as combining surreal and horror.  It’s quite interesting to look at, as all good art is.  Atiya is currently in the proces of getting her graphic design degree and judging from her work, she’s got a very bright future ahead of her.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

aeonfuxpastelnew

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My artwork definitely falls into the surreal/horror genre if I had to classify it as anything. I like my work to be pretty but I like to have that added element of something being off. I feel like people don’t realize that there is beauty in the bizarre.

What inspires you?

I take my inspiration from several different places. Some popular Japanese visual artists such as Shintaro Kago, Kazuo Umezu, and Junji Ito. Other independent artists (there are way too many to list) but just to name a few: Tiia Reijonen, Kaina Lacerda, and k00ps. Music is another big inspiration for me. Lately, I’ve been taking inspiration from Melanie Martinez, aeonfux, and Babeo Baggins.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve been drawing ever since elementary school but I didn’t realize I had a knack for it until about seventh grade. I never truly believed I could make it as an artist so I started focusing more on pursuing writing as a profession once I was in high school. I didn’t really sit back and decide that I wanted to create and sell art for a living until I started drawing again and teaching myself how to make art digitally. I started following a lot more artists online and I realized that it was possible with enough dedication and hard-work.

DSCF7532

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Hm. I guess the most noticeable “feature” of any of my work would be my emphasis on eyes. Multiple eyes, spider eyes, one eye, etc. It’s something I like to add in to most of my work if I can.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

JUST DO IT. You may think it’s impossible, you may have people in your life bashing your dreams, and you may hit roadblocks (scratch that, you WILL hit roadblocks) but it’s overcoming these obstacles that will make your work bigger and better. Take everything a step at a time but never lose sight of the big picture.

DSCF7644

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Asexual/Panromantic

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Thankfully, I’ve yet to encounter anyone that’s made my sexual identity into something that I should be ashamed of. The fantastic thing about most of the art world is that it’s full of so many different people from all walks of life. People seem more accepting of others, regardless of their orientation.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Probably that a romantic relationship can’t flourish or survive without sexual intimacy. It’s something that is not only a flawed concept but something that makes members of the ace community feel like they’ll never have a meaningful relationship without compromising a part of themselves that they shouldn’t have to. Romantic relationships are possible without sex. Romantic relationships can be just as meaningful without sex.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Being ace is difficult, especially considering a lot of people both in and out of the LGBTQ community don’t understand it but embrace that part of yourself and don’t feel like you have to explain or defend your orientation. If it feels right to you then that’s all that matters. You don’t need validation from others.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Several places! The biggest one would be my art blog: ambartist.tumblr.com
There I have links to my Teepublic, Redbubble, and Society6 pages where you can view and purchase my work. I also have an Instagram account for in-progress things: AMBARTIST

spacedevilcomplete

Thank you, Atiya, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

