Interview: Rosie

Today we’re joined by Rosie.  Rosie is a young aspiring artist who leans towards drawing.  She also acts, but prefers drawing and animation.  Judging by her dedication to art, I’d say she has a very bright future ahead of her.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

IMG_0051

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I am an aspiring self-taught artist and an actress. I enjoy acting but I tend to lean more towards drawing.  I have different styles of drawing.  Sometimes I draw mandalas, draw a scribble and work around that, or redesign logos and other times it will be a silly character. I recently started to learn how to animate things and I have really enjoyed doing that. I have sold some of my drawings to a local tattoo parlor and some people have had them tattooed.

What inspires you?

Anything inspires me really but most of the time it’s music. I will hit shuffle on my playlist or turn on the radio and draw to the song.

IMG_0665

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always been into drawing and acting, ever since I could remember I was doodling on things (especially walls) or writing little skits with my brothers and the more I progress with my art the more I get interested in it.

I have always wanted to be something to do with the arts, I can’t see myself having a job that doesn’t require creativity when I’m older, I see myself as having a job that uses my artistic skills.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Unfortunately I do not! But I am working on it

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t stop! Keep drawing even if it doesn’t look appealing to you, it will to someone else. Draw something that looks ‘bad’ and see how you can improve it, try different drawing techniques and styles and maybe come up with your own style.

Eye blink

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Aro/ace

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Sadly I have, I have had people say to me that it isn’t real and aro/aces do not exist. (I don’t advise doing this it will get you in trouble) My response was to hit them in the arm and say ‘if I’m not real then that didn’t hurt’

IMG_2497

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it’s a phase. That is the most annoying thing I have ever heard in my entire life. Ever.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Give it time. It took me a long time to figure out what was going on with me. When I was 10ish my friends would always talk about who they fancied etc. and when they asked me I had no idea what to say, because I didn’t like anyone. When I was 12 I got a “boyfriend” and I didn’t feel comfortable with it. I didn’t like kissing or anything so I stopped after having 1 kiss and I didn’t understand the whole ‘I love you blah blah’ relationship thingy. When I was 14 I saw a post on tumblr about asexuality so I decided to look into it and I started identifying as aro/ace. It took me a while to come to terms with it though, so let your life continue and search for some websites for advice on things.

IMG_4400

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I set up a Devianart a few days ago, and me not being very tech-savy have no idea how to get some of my pictures from my phone to my laptop to there. But here’s the link anyway: http://rosslingroo.deviantart.com/

I also post some of my art to my tumblr blog- watching-angels-fall.tumblr.com (and again with me being terrible with technology will make a page for my artwork when I can actually figure it out)

Untitled

Thank you, Rosie, for participating in this interview and this project.  It is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

