Interview: Rinshuu

Today we’re joined by Rinshuu.  Rinshuu is a versatile and talented artist from Denmark.  They are mostly a visual artist, but also enjoy writing fanfiction.  They’re also interested in music and their enthusiasm for all these fields is wonderful.  My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Although I am not a professional, I like dipping my feet into all kinds of arts. I mostly do fan work, but I have also done original work for smaller projects and so on.

I am mainly a digital artist, musician, writer, and game creator. I am mostly inspired by Japanese art (in the shape of manga, etc.), but I appreciate all kinds of art when I see them.

As for the things I draw, it’s mostly manga and I’ve taken commissions for this as well. I also animate sometimes, but it’s not something I’m especially interested in.

The musician part is kind of abstract. I use the Japanese vocal synthesizer software “VOCALOID” to create covers of existing songs. I also like remixing, arranging, and covering songs as well.

My writing and game creation is closely connected, since I write visual novels and illustrate them myself. It’s not really anything serious yet, but I’d love for it to become something more serious in the future.

What inspires you?

Personally, I think other people inspire me a lot – and this is both my friends and other artists. I love creating things for my friends, especially at special occasions. I also like being recognized for what I do, because who doesn’t, really?

When I see some really good art…. Or play a really good game… or listen to some really funky music… I just feel like creating things for myself! I want to create things that make other people feel inspired too. To be honest, it’s quite a give-take situation, just in a much nicer way than the words insinuate.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always loved creating art. Ever since I was little, I strived to be better and better at drawing and I wanted to show my art to people. When I was younger, I wrote stories for my family to read. I also made art and hung it up around my school so people could see it. It’s always just been deeply engraved into my being.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t really have anything in particular. I create what I think feels right at the moment and then work out the details later. I really like incorporating eyes and people into my works, but it’s not something I necessarily focus on.

When it comes to writing, I admit that I somewhat biased when it comes to genders and sexualities. I try my hardest to include all kinds of people into my work, because I believe in diversity in things like that. I also have a certain affection for asexual characters, since I feel like I can relate to them very easily.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I would just tell them to keep doing what they like and improving their arts! Art shouldn’t be tedious, or at least not to an extreme extend, so have fun with it. There’s lots of time to improve, explore and broaden your horizons, so focus on having fun while doing it.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am completely asexual (is that even the correct term?), but I am panromantic. I have never felt sexual attraction to anyone, not even people I have loved.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t actually met any prejudice about asexuality. I’ve had some of my friends I’ve come out to question it a bit, but it was never actually anything offending – just curiosity. My lack of prejudices might be because I am somewhat quiet about my sexuality. It’s not like I am ashamed about it or anything, I just don’t see any reason to bring it into every conversation. However, I make sure to always inform new friends about it, simply because I like giving them the upper hand.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The most common/annoying (yes, they’re the same thing) is that all asexuals hate sex. Or find it disgusting. I especially hate when my friends ask things like: “Does that mean you find sex disgusting??” No, it really doesn’t. I just don’t feel like partaking in the activity.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t worry too much about it! If you think you’re asexual and realize you’re not, it’s totally okay! Discovering who you are is an important step of your life, and although some people might have some elitist ideals about sexuality (“How can you be bi when you’re dating a woman?? You’re obviously a lesbian!”), it doesn’t matter. What matters is how you feel about yourself.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My Tumblr is thegourmettsukiyamashuu, my Deviantart/Pixiv are Rinshuu. Feel free to message me if you have any questions!

Thank you, Rinshuu, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

