Interview: Rebekah Kroeplin

Today we’re joined by Rebekah Kroeplin.  Rebekah is a very talented and versatile artist who works in a number of mediums.  She has an admirable passion for storytelling and creates some truly beautiful images.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art is really a jumble of different things, from fanart to illustrations to even a short film.  But, they all have one thing in common: They’re created through storytelling.  I love to tell stories with my art and I make it a goal for each of my pieces to speak to people in some way!

What inspires you?

Pretty much anything.  Life in general is my real inspiration.  From social to political issues, I tend to reflect my art off of things revolving on a moral compass.

2

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I wanted to be a published writer since I was about six years old.  But then, as time grew on, I was influenced by my artistic grandmother, my multi-gifted best friend, people I discovered online, and more.  Everything in my life seemed to be pointing towards a career in graphic design and animation.  So, that’s how that happened!

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Hm . . . No, not really.  I always put a link to my website along with my written signature.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

If this is something that you enjoy and are passionate about, never give up.  Always keep pursuing a bigger goal.  Don’t hold yourself back from reaching your full potential, because you can do so much more than you’d ever believe was possible.

3

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am a heteromantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t encountered prejudice, but there have been a lot of ignorance.  And, I’ve grown to accept that people won’t completely understand asexuality right off the bat.  Since we live in a sex driven culture, it’s really normal for someone to be confused when discovering there are people who aren’t interested in sex.  I’ve learned to be patient with these people, and it really paid off.

4

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Many people seem to believe an asexual person is depressed or is suffering from sexual trauma from their past.  This is not true of all asexuals, and I hope the people we influence can come to realize that.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Be patient with yourself.  Don’t worry about figuring out an exact word that fits you.  If you don’t feel sexual attraction towards people, or find yourself normally not feeling sexual attraction, call yourself asexual.  Remember, no word will fully describe you as a person.  We are all different and you don’t need to stress over finding a term to identify you.  You are beautiful and wonderful.  That’s all you need to know!

5

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My DeviantArt page: www.rebekahkroeplin.deviantart.com, and my asexual blog: www.our-breathing-space.tumblr.com

If you would like to see my official art blog, that would be here: www.rebekahkroeplin.tumblr.com

6

Thank you, Rebekah, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

