Interview: Madz

Today we’re joined by Madz.  Madz is an incredibly talented writer who is currently working on a story that borrows a lot from biblical lore (entitled The Messenger).  She’s a very enthusiastic writer, as you’ll soon see.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a writer! I love to create stories and play on a reader’s third eye to give them the best possible imagination. It fulfills me greatly to hear of adventures readers have in their own heads because of something I wrote, and sometimes I wonder if that fascination means I should get into psychology or something, haha! I dream of writing something absolutely legendary that would be around for centuries, that people could imagine and make their own stories with. Writing is how I channel my happiness, and sometimes anger. One day I wish that I could write about a huge adventure, one that would instill good vibes, warm memories, and bittersweet reminiscence like looking fondly back on your childhood. I write for myself, but I want everyone else to enjoy it as well!

What inspires you?

Nearly everything! Unfortunately, my family and friends do not see my writing the same way I do, and do not think it is important. It looks like a side hobby to them, I guess. I do not think they know how much time I put into it, and frankly, I think they couldn’t care less. It motivates me to think that one day maybe they would see and perhaps even appreciate all that I do.

Besides them, my inspiration comes from looking around and listening and living in general. Writing is less of a literal thing, and more of a mental video that I have to somehow put into words. Sometimes, I cannot find enough words. Most of the time, I can’t bring myself to stop! It’s a peculiar thing, and writing has become a very big part of my life, bigger than most people would think. Storytelling has always been regarded highly throughout history, and that makes me feel a lot better at what I do!

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I can’t quite remember when I started, or why. It was a long time ago for me, and I have a very fuzzy memory, to say the least. It started with Fanfictions about Mario, and unfortunately my imagination ran away as well as the rest of the huge adventure I had planned out. It tends to happen with a lot of my stories, hence why I have only ever finished one multi-chapter story despite all the years I’ve been at it. I knew I always wanted to do something great, but I never would have guessed that it would manifest in something like writing!

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I have a couple, I think!

‘O~o~O’

I use those symbols to indicate a scene change, like a camera switching over.

Another thing I do is keep consistent with my Point of View. I always explain what’s going on in the character’s mind as if it is me telling you, and I give voice(well, words) to what the character decides to say or not to say. Like, ‘I could tell this person about the thing, but they might not take it very well. It’s best to keep my mouth shut.’ type thing! I also love to depict confusion, where the character cannot actually decide how they feel.

One last thing I tend to do, especially with my main character, is think very deeply about the beauty of something. I almost always write out a scene where a character just stops what they are doing and gaze, commenting endlessly in their heads on how gorgeous and sublime something is, like a place or another person.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Never stop what you’re doing! Imagine what the world would miss out on if we never got to see what’s in your head! I was lucky, I never received negativity save for one time. I only got lack of care from the people most important to me. But that has to fuel you to keep going, because people like us will not be ignored any longer!

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I don’t think there is a branch for what I am, or at least I don’t know the name for it. I just call myself an asexual (and maybe demiromantic, but I’m not sure because I have never been romantically attracted to anyone); I do not mind the concept of sex, though I am not going to consider it for a long time. I doubt anyone would believe me if I said that I do not even mind the naked human body! Literally the only thing that bothers me is sexualisation of everything. It ticks me off that a story cannot be considered ~complete and fulfilling~ without a sex scene, and I am determined to change that. I’m here for adventure, not for sex.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Before I knew what asexuality was, or even that I was an asexual, I did. I was always so confused as to why sex was so important to people, especially men. Each time I wanted to question it, I was met with “You’ll understand when you’re older.” Well, I’m older, so ha. I’m so glad that I was taught of the genders and the sexualities in time before I was truly convinced that sex is the greatest thing you can give someone. It’s not. It really isn’t. I dealt with it, and listened to them, but I never believed them. Holding true to my beliefs made it easier!

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Asexuals tend to be labelled as childish. It’s a ridiculous notion, and not really fair at all. Granted, I’m still young and hold a particular love for fantasy, but it’s not like I’m a little kid that you have to be careful not to swear around. I know who I am, and everyone else should too. I’m not ‘uneducated’ about sex just because I don’t want it. I’m not ‘childish’ just because adventure is more important to me. I am just as mature as anyone else, the only difference being how I feel about sex. Liking sex does not make you any more or less mature!!

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

There are going to be tons of great people you meet, people of all genders and sexualities. They might not fully understand your sexuality at first, just like you might not understand theirs. But the world is changing, and who wouldn’t want the privilege of explaining something entirely new to someone? For us, it might be difficult to understand ourselves, in a society seemingly obsessed with sex. How do you possibly explain that it just isn’t all that great to you? It’s not easy, but it’s worth it. We are here, we are queer, and we deserve a place in this community! You are not alone!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have a Fanfiction.Net account, a Wattpad, and now an AO3 as well, all under the name Fezzes64! Right now my biggest project is a story called The Messenger, and lately I’ve been obsessed with the concept of angels and demons. It was an accidental and coincidental name; there was a song called The Messenger and I had no idea that it also meant Angel until after I published it. The Messenger is a Hetalia fanfiction, but I have been told the plot is way too intricate, haha! I’m trying to be inclusive of all kinds of characters, because I have realised with my knowledge of the LGBTQIA community that the world is bigger than a mere romance between a white angel and a white demon. I am going to have lots of female characters, mostly people of colour, and I will introduce a nonbinary God and a trans Satan! (Not to say that people who are trans are Hellish creatures, I just really like the idea of Satan being a gorgeous woman.) There will be more than just God and Satan too, because this story is going to be as real as possible! It will not be centralised in America at all. And yes, there will be asexual characters! 😉 The Messenger is slowly becoming my contribution to social justice!

https://www.wattpad.com/story/38043030-the-messenger

Wattpad is the best place to read The Messenger, in my opinion. I use songs very intimately with the chapters and Wattpad allows me to add music videos! Also, romance is not the main idea of the story, but rather the adventure. There is focus on the two main character’s friendship, but that is because they are crossing lines by simply knowing each other. The big and mainly moral idea of the story is standing up to two separate corrupt governments over the angels and demons respectively. There are lots of metaphors, like for mental illness and for who we like to call ‘radical fangirls’ and this story is going to be huge and insanely cool! It’s off to a slow start, but I’m never giving up on it!

Thank you, Madz, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

