Interview: Sandr Spade

Today we’re joined by Sandr Spade.  Sandr is an incredibly talented and versatile artist.  They mostly write fanfiction, but are working on some original work too.  Aside from writing, they also compose music using chipspeech, UTAU, and Vocaloid.  My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Self-Portrait
                                                                              Self-Portrait

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I mostly do writing of the fanfiction variety but I also am working on a few novels in the young adult science-fiction and fantasy genres. I also compose music using synthetic singers like Vocaloids, UTAU, and chipspeech instead of my own voice.

What inspires you?

Oddly enough, older, less…good attempts at writing. I can always look back on my older works and smile and say, through the haze of embarrassment, that I can always do better than this. And I do. It’s surprisingly cathartic.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I love books. I love music. I love reading books while listening to music. They just fit so well. I was once a huge weeb so Vocaloid was an eventuality. (I still have some of the older Vocaloid songs like Triple Baka and Magnet on my iTunes account…)

To be honest, I want to make a living writing and music is more of a paying hobby for me. But ever since I started playing songs by ear on the piano and flute, I like making up music. Also I was really big into poetry and lyrics during my high school years and they just needed music!

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Well I have a very specific narration style when it comes to writing even third-person where it comes off very stream-of-consciousness. And I love antiquated and polysyballic words. As for music, I tend to write vocals in the lower register because I love throaty, low female voices.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Always keep your old works guys! Embarrassment is one hell of a motivator! Also, if your writing seems predictable or your music seems boring, it’s cause you wrote/composed it and you’ve listened to/read it multiple times. It’s gonna seem that way to you and you may be able to pick out the flaws but I bet you a billion dollars that Jane Doe from down the block thinks it’s the damn bee’s knees.

Queer
                                                                                         Queer

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am a triple-A. Asexual (autochoris), aromantic, agender. It makes for some really good puns.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Yes and no. On one hand, I have written songs about both being genderqueer and aro/ace and they’ve been well-received. On the other, I want to write a story about other people in the queer community and I’ve seen some hate towards someone who is “straight and cis-passing” writing characters that are not.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

“[Asexuals] are just running away from relationships!” (Actual Thing my dad said to me.)

Not true. I had a relationship for five years. I just realized that it was better for him if I said we’re done. Now he’s married with a kid and I’m still happily single.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Asexuality is a weird thing. You may not even be what is considered traditionally asexual! You might be grey-ace, demi, akiosexual, lithsexual, or autochorissexual but that does not devalue your place in both the asexual community and the queer community. There are more people like you than you think. You are not broken, trust me. And even if you don’t turn out to be asexual, that’s okay! I thought I was asexual panromantic at one point so keep looking! You’ll find your label eventually!

Also, don’t sweat it if you don’t ever find a label and just waffle back and forth. Maybe you’re something we don’t have a word for yet! Just hang on and you should be good!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My Bandcamp: http://clockworksinger.bandcamp.com
My personal Tumblr: http://clockworksinger.tumblr.com
My professional Tumblr: http://sandr-spade.tumblr.com
My professional Email: clockwork_singer@aol.com
My Twitter: @sandrlives

Arrow-Ace
                                                                          Arrow-Ace

Thank you, Sandr, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

