Interview: Ainsel

Today we’re joined by Ainsel.  Ainsel is an incredibly talented artist from France who wrote me an incredibly kind email.  When I saw her work, I was excited to be able to feature her on Asexual Artists.  She uses mostly traditional mediums and her artwork is incredibly beautiful.  She has a fondness for the feminine form, which is apparent in her work.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Aenor at l'autre
Aenor at l’autre

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I draw in traditional media. I use a lot black lines and sometimes some watercolor.  My dream is to create a comic one day. I started to touch painting (in an abstract and impulsive way).

I am also sculpting a BJD doll (an articulate doll). I want to cast it and continue making artist dolls, because it fascinates me! Moreover, I am learning the engraving technical.

What inspires you?

My subjects are most of the time young feminine characters. I just can’t stop to draw about femininity. I naturally draw with my feelings, the goods like the saddest.

Things like nature and magic universe also inspire me.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Yeah, I think I always wanted to follow this way. I’ve always drawn as far as I can remember.

I tried other way in studies, I tried to think about a “more serious” work, but I just can’t do anything else. It is so strong you know, something that is part of me, that helps me and sometimes save me. It’s like there is things I feel and see, things I can’t explain. So I draw, and then the drawing helps me understand. Actually, it materializes the world in my head.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Sure, but maybe it’s something that escapes me…

A friend of mine told me there is something with the eyes in my work.

I can say I like fairies and jellyfish.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t listen to the “it’s not a work”. World needs artists. Be ambitious.

And be yourself in your work, if you create what is really you, you will enjoy it and people will see it in your art. There is not one way to create, so it’s useless to compare.

fée araignée petite
fée araignée petite

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I think I identify as a cis homoromantic grey-ace girl.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Actually, the kind of prejudice I can see is on Internet. Things like “grey-ace doesn’t exist” because people always see in a binary way… You have to be either totally asexual or totally sexual.

But I think world is full of different shades! When I discovered asexuality, I realized there was something to describe what I am. But I felt guilty because I didn’t know if I was “enough asexual”, and then it was like there was no place for me because to see me as allosexual is like… No.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I identified myself very recently, so I haven’t really encountered misconceptions (because I don’t really come out with a lot of people). My close friends are very open-minded and, yeah they know Tumblr and all that stuff so … For the moment, I am very lucky!

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s only words. It’s not “what you are”. But that can help to know there is a community around you, and don’t feel lonely.  Just don’t try to “do a diagnostic” because obviously it’s not a pathology. And it’s never the others, or something written on the Internet that defines you. YOU choose your words, and YOU know. It’s about how you feel, what kind of identification that makes you feel comfortable. And if what you feel seems to not exist anywhere else, if it’s written nowhere, then congratulation, you are the first!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Here is my actual tumblr art stuff: http://ainsel-art.tumblr.com/
My old blog: http://mori-no-kurage.blogspot.fr/
Online Book: http://kurage.ultra-book.com/portfolio
My deviantart: http://momoko0o.deviantart.com/
Pinterset: https://www.pinterest.com/morifairy/ainsel/

Spider
Spider

Thank you, Ainsel, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

