Interview: Sarah C.

Today we’re joined by Sarah C.  Sarah is an amazingly talented writer and visual artist who specializes in comics.  Her current project is entitled Anacrine Complex, which is an exciting project that she’s quite passionate about.  Sarah is so enthusiastic about art, which shines through in her interview.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

AC053

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I write and draw a lot of comics. My current project is Anacrine Complex, a comic about some not-so-super heroes and what happens when they make the right choices for the wrong reasons. I love exploring color, line, and emotion, so some pages are crazier than others!

What inspires you?

I’m heavily inspired by the successes of other people! If I love a piece of art, I’ll study it and maybe even try to copy the technique to learn it. If I love a song, I’ll listen to it on loop for days and make drawings that attempt to capture its emotion. Really I view my work as a conglomeration of everything that inspired me to make it.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always kept a sketchbook, for as long as I can remember, but I didn’t even consider art to be a viable career until I got to college and started reading webcomics. Tessa Stone, Yuko Ota, and Zack Morrison all had great comics going on at that point and I thought, “I want to be a part of this.” They told such great stories, and they were doing it all by themselves. I admired that.

AC059

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I’m kind of a huge nerd, so I’ll hide the occasional Dr. Who reference or Gravity Falls-type encryption in my work. If Bill Cipher is on the page, there’s probably a code in there somewhere.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

One of my teachers said that everyone has 1,000 bad drawings in them. Once you get the bad drawings out, the good ones can come through your fingers. So keep drawing! Don’t give up just because you aren’t where you want to be yet- find joy in the journey and just enjoy moving your pen over the page. Experiment, draw ugly things, don’t be afraid to ruin some paper.

BenDesk1366x768

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I recently came to identify as gray ace.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Since I didn’t fully understand what asexuality was until this last year, I haven’t really had time to notice. I guess that means there’s not a lot of prejudice! However, I feel awareness of asexuality is really low in the storytelling field. I get excited when I find a good story without innuendos or sex because I can fully identify with it! I plan to write and illustrate more of these stories as time goes on.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

More than anything, when I tell people about my orientation, they’ll say something along the lines of “don’t worry, you’ll find the right person soon and you’ll be just like everybody else”. It’s like they think there’s something wrong with me and a boyfriend will solve that problem. Aside from being inaccurate (I don’t feel broken in the least), I think that sort of statement is an immature way to look at life. I am not half of a relationship waiting to be complete – I am a whole person.

Techi2

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Breathe. It’s ok to be unsure about things. You’re still the person you’ve always been, whether or not you know which words fit you best (asexual, demisexual, etc). Do research, find a trusted friend you can talk it out with, and breathe. You’re awesome, ok?

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

If you want to see my current comic project, you can go to AnacrineComplex.tumblr.com, or if you just want to check out my sketches and other work, go to DoodlesOnly.tumblr.com.

tumblr_no44949HDF1sjf4ljo1_1280

Thank you, Sarah, for participating in this interview and this project.  It is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

