Interview: Joey

Today we’re joined by Joey.  Joey is an amazingly talented up and coming artist.  She has so many ideas and aspirations and that enthusiasm comes through in her interview.  Joey is mainly a writer, who is interested in creating original work.  She’s also a student at the Art Institute working towards her Bachelor’s in Graphic Design.  If her art is anything to go by, she has a bright future ahead of her.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

11-01-01

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I write mostly (okay, all the time). I have loads of ideas; I dabble in fanfiction a little, but I’m usually more inclined to write something more original. I’m actually working on a Peter Pan re-telling right now, and a book that I hope to be finished within the next couple of months or so.

I’m also a student at the Art Institute, currently getting my Bachelor’s degree in Graphic Design. My art is mainly digital based, using Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator, but sometimes I sketch things when I get bored. I’m actually trying to get an online magazine about a queer podcast called “Welcome to Night Vale” off the ground right now, which will chronicle every episode in the form of articles and wtnv fanart. My main goal is to reach a broader listener-ship through the magazine by giving people who don’t like podcasts or who are Deaf the chance to be a part of a fandom that is perfectly imperfect.

What inspires you?

A lot of things inspire me actually. But its LGBT issues that inspire me the most. My writing and my art heavily feature a lot of LGBT themes because, honestly, that’s what I am. I’m a part of the LGBT community and I want to put those issues that we as a community face out there for the world to see. TV shows, movies, and podcasts also inspire me. I’m always coming up with new ideas or ways I can express my art or writing.

Flood, J_Candy-Bar-Logo

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Ooooooh gosh. Here’s where the story begins. I’ve been writing since I was in middle school, and I started to get more interested in doing art (mainly digital art) when I got into high school. How I got interested in writing is actually a pretty funny story, because it involves Twilight and myself thinking I could write a MUCH better vampire romance than Stephanie Meyer could (by my standards I think I’m doing pretty well). Art, well, I’ve just always liked it actually. My mom was an artist when she was younger, and her dad is a professional portrait painter.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

In my art I sometimes use Pride symbols, like rainbows and such. In my writing…. Well, I don’t know if I have a special or unique feature really. I know I feature LGBT themes a lot, but I think I mentioned that already. I think maybe it’s that I put a little piece of myself or what I’ve always wanted to be into each of my favorite characters. Or maybe it’s that I’m very passionate about the things I write and you can see that in my writing.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Advice? I can’t even follow my own advice! But if you insist! I’d say the best advice I can give is just write or draw from yourself, meaning take all those things you believe in, all the things you love, all the things you admire, and try to incorporate them into whatever you do. I read a lot (I have three bookshelves full) and when I find something I like in a book, or something that connects with me on an emotional level, it stays with me for a long time and it impacts the things I write or draw. Like… okay, for example, I have depression and I’m part of the LGBT community, so those two things play heavily in whatever I write or draw. Those things are what I’m passionate about and, in turn, something I want other people to be passionate about as well.

Flood, J_Newspaper-Page

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as a Genderfluid Panromantic Asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Well, not in my field, but personally I have. An ex I was dating at the time when I figured out I was ace reacted very negatively, and my best friend refuses to acknowledge the fact that asexuality exists.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That if you’re in a relationship, it’s not a true relationship if you aren’t having sex.

Flood, J_Optical-Color-Mixing_ART150

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Just be honest with yourself. Don’t hide who you are. It’s not fun. I tried to deny myself as ace for several months after coming out because people kept telling me it didn’t exist. But ya know what? It DOES exist, and the next time someone says it doesn’t, why don’t you just give ‘em a good kick in the kneecap?

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can find me at a lot of places actually!

Deviant Art – http://tryingnormal.deviantart.com/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/TryingNormal

Archive of Our Own – http://archiveofourown.org/users/TryingNormal42

And finally, my Tumblr – http://tryingnormal.tumblr.com/

Flood, J_Postcards-03

Thank you, Joey, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

