Interview: Takara Dancy

Today we’re joined by Takara Dancy.  Takara is another first for Asexual Artists: she’s a model maker.  Takara makes all kinds of models, from architectural ones to creature sculptures.  Her models are absolutely gorgeous and fascinating to look at.  There’s so much detail put into them, it’s amazing.  I highly recommend browsing through her site for a bit.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Best_001

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a Model Maker. This covers everything from scaled architectural models, sculpting creatures, making props and even fabrication work.

What inspires you?

I find my inspiration from so many different areas in life. For example, other artists, the environment around me, nature, my family and friends …. my imagination/inspiration for my artwork is all around me.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I grew up watching practical effects movies, such as Dark Crystal, Labyrinth, Little Shop of Horrors, Aliens etc. My eldest sister is also an artist and we spent much of our childhood around museums and art galleries. There wasn’t much money in the family growing up, so we used our imagination to entertain ourselves. I couldn’t see myself being anything else apart from an artist. When I was in my late teens I developed idiopathic scoliosis, and had spinal surgery in 2009 – my creative brain kept me semi sane! In 2012 I had an allergic reaction to medication and I am currently wheelchair bound – however following a shortcourse in Model Making I applied to university, was accepted, and know I am destined to have a career as a Model Maker – I have also always been more 3D inclined rather than an illustrator

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

At present my work is constantly developing, so I haven’t really got a personal touch as such.  I am sure that in time I will be known for a certain style – which is encouraged, rather than being one of the many who are mainstream.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

If art is your passion, never give up, and never stop improving.  When I talk with people who have been in the industry for quite a long time, they all say that someone with a good work ethic goes a long way.  Always learn from people who are willing to teach you, and be respectful of the time they are offering.

models_005

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify myself as a demisexual, although because tend to spend any spare time focusing on my Model Making, I don’t really think too much about my sexuality.  Being disabled also limits the potential to have of any type of relationship as well, but this is not a problem because I am comfortable with my situation. Being in a relationship for the sake of other’s expectations has never and will never suit me, I’m happy on my own with the friends and family I have. That doesn’t mean I have completely cut out the idea of dating, but I have no intention of going looking for it, as I have far too many more important things to spend my time on.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I have probably experienced more prejudice and ignorance due to being in a wheelchair than due to my sexuality.  But if I think about it, because I am in the art world, there are many who are of different sexual persuasions and so I don’t feel it is too much of an issue.  If there has ever been anything specific I tend to try and handle it with a sense of humor – it’s not my problem, but theirs.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Lack of education on asexuality just means people are ignorant.  I do think that times are changing for the better though.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

My advice to anyone who is struggling with their orientation is to try and find other people who will understand, and follow your gut instinct about who you are as a person.  Being honest with yourself is the start. Once you know who you are, you can begin to surround yourself with people who suit who you are.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My website is at  http://www.takaradancy.co.uk/tdpmodels.html

Thank you, Takara, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

