Interview: Wilson

Today we’re joined by Wilson.  Wilson is an incredibly talented visual artist.  They work mostly in digital mediums though they also work with some traditional mediums as well.  They sent along some really interesting pictures, which are quite fun to look at.  My thanks to them for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Magic
Magic

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I do a lot of digital art with minor bits of traditional pieces. It’s mostly fanart, if I’m honest, but it’s something I enjoy and others enjoy it as well. I get a lot of peace and happiness out of my work. I practice daily, both at the high school and college level, and I’d like to think all my art has a small piece of the same style. I’m one of those artists that you look at a piece and recognize it’s mine.

What inspires you?

Hard workers. I see people every day (fan artists or otherwise) who work themselves to death just trying to finish a commission on time, or drawing for hours and hours into the night just for fun. There are so many artists, animators, writers, singers, and others of all mediums who influence my art constantly.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I haven’t always wanted to be an artist. At first, I wanted to be a singer, then a teacher, and then a psychologist. I fluctuated on what I wanted to be for a long time until these last two years, where I settled on a Graphic Designer. I’m currently striving for a Graphic Design degree in college. What got me interested in art was certainly graphic novels. I wrote my own graphic novels (albeit they were in sixth grade when I had next to nothing within drawing experience) but I let nothing discourage me too much. I kept going and I’m still pushing past barriers to keep improving myself.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My signature isn’t really that hidden or complex. As of recently, it’s changed to a sharp G mirrored into a trident shape. When it comes to a meaning, it doesn’t have one. Not everything has to have a rhyme or reason to it, but I’m sure it’ll gather meaning in the future. I always seem to include features that correlate in my art, it seems. Sometimes one art piece will look like another, solely because I figured out a good way to draw a specific part of the body or I found a background technique that looks great. It’ll mirror across several pieces I do until I find a better way to do that specific piece.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Never stop. No matter how much you think you’re a failure, that an art career will never go anywhere, that you’re going to amount to nothing, never stop. Draw once a day, either in a sketchbook or on the computer or on your notes for your math homework, always do one doodle a day. Don’t be afraid to try new things, new ideas, new styles, and keep pushing yourself.

MinxArt
MinxArt

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I fall weirdly on all the spectrums. Asexual, Polyromantic, and a Demiboy.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

In my field, kinda. It’s very rare, but I do find a lot of acephobia in my family life. I handle it through compliance, especially with my mother, and I just nod and smile. I have people who know and accept that I am who I am, and it doesn’t really matter what others think until it directly affects my job, my health, or my happiness.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That we’re broken. That we just haven’t found the right person yet.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Never give up. Be as stubborn as a mountain. Do not let them try to change you. You are not broken, and you are allowed to completely ditch someone you’re dating if they try to “fix you.” Seriously, if those words come out of their mouth, run far, far away.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can find me on DeviantArt: TheSheGavin.deviantart.com/
Tumblr: TheSheGavin.tumblr.com
Or Twitter: twitter.com/TheSheGavin

Mountain King & Queen
Mountain King & Queen

Thank you, Wilson, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

