Interview: Disdainful Loni

Today we’re joined by Disdainful Loni, who also goes by Loni.  Loni is an amazingly talented visual artist who does a lot of cartoon and animation work.  Her work is fun to look at and she definitely has her own style.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

artist_ii_by_disdainful_loni-d8frp1u

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My main interest in art has always been cartoons and animation, which is a huge factor in my style and design.  It ranges from sketches to inklings and sometimes tomfoolery in Photoshop CS3.  I am constantly evolving my style, but I never forget my Saturday morning cartoon roots.

What inspires you?

Mostly making myself happy with my talent, as well as bringing smiles to people’s faces.  Music also helps set the tone of my art.  Also, sitting in a public area, watching people move about me and studying their posture and movement.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always been into art for as long as I can remember.  I always drew for fun (years before the Internet was available for showing other people), but it was in high school through my four years there that my Art teacher gave me the drive to pursue my talent, advancing into college with the determination to become a serious artist.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Most of the time, drawing self-portraits, I include the cocky grin with one raised eyebrow into my features.  Also, because of being left-handed, nearly every character I draw is facing the same way.  And, once my piece is complete, I always sign it with a large letter ‘L’ and the rest of my name kinda squiggled beside it.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Draw, draw, DRAW.  Never settle for what you think is your “limit”.  There are no limits in art, so always be open to improvement and tackling different media.  Also, always remember to draw for YOU first.  You will feel better not feeling forced to accumulate a gathering with cookie-cutter things to get attention.  Also, draw.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Just . . . asexual.  It’s taken me years to even figure that much about myself, so I try not to burden my mind with specifics.  I’m all about aesthetic as far as the human body is concerned.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not “in my field” exactly, but I’ve had to grit my teeth when people—especially older women—tell me that I will change my mind about having kids, and when I assure them I won’t, I literally have to spell it out for them:  I.  Don’t.  Have.  Sex.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Finishing the above paragraph, people oftentimes tell me I am a saint or something or that I’m missing out, and I am neither because I’m far from a saint and I have plenty of animals that fill in any gap I “might” have about child-rearing.  Also, “budding”.  That one never gets old.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Do not let anyone tell you what you like and dislike.  Don’t feel reluctant about who you are because someone says ‘you won’t know until you try’.  You be you.  Do NOT let anyone pressure you into anything.  You are perfect and as normal as anyone else in the world.  Accept yourself for who you are.  Your orientation is just as important as anyone else’s.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Sadly, I am still attached to DeviantART where a lot of my old works are archived.  (disdainful-loni.deviantart.com)  I also fuddle around on Tumblr and have a RedBubble shop.  One day, I may have a site specifically for my work.  But, for now, you can find me on Tumblr (disdainful-loni.tumblr.com).

Thank you, Loni, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

