Interview: Tia D.

Today we’re joined by Tia D..  Tia is a wonderfully talented visual artist who dabbles in animation.  Her drawings are quite beautiful and I was particularly impressed with her use of color.  Her images are quite eye-catching as you’ll soon see.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Alison and Conner
Alison and Conner

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I usually draw and animate as a hobby, but just recently I have joined a group of a few other artist, writers, and musicians in making a partly-animated web comic!

What inspires you?

Lots of things! I do really like nature and animals, but I think what inspires me most is all the other artists that I see and meet online. They really help me to keep going with my work!

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

My mom was an artist, and the trait was passed down onto me and my sister. I have been an artist for as long as I can remember! Sadly, my mom doesn’t draw anymore; but she does enjoy seeing my work.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Hmmm… I don’t think I do. 😮

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t feel down about any of your art. Each drawing is another step towards greatness! I made my style by looking at art by other people, seeing how they draw things, and incorporating it into my own art! I would still mix it all up or change things that didn’t work, and I would never completely copy one person’s style. Just grab ingredients from what you see and your art will improve by a lot!

Icon

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am a hetero-romantic asexual. I don’t feel sexually attracted to any gender, but I can feel romantically attracted towards the opposite.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I tried to come out to my parents, but they told me that Asexuality is a dumb label and that I’m too young to be thinking about it… I couldn’t do anything about it, but everyone else has been very accepting of it!

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

People often think that Asexual means Aromantic, or that Asexuality means just that a person doesn’t feel sexually OR romantically attracted to ANYONE, but that just isn’t right!

Signless Bleeding for Toasty
Signless Bleeding for Toasty

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

We are not broken. Despite the small amount of us there are, despite how many people don’t believe we exist or make fun of us, our pride stands tall. Don’t be ashamed of who you are. Don’t feel that you need to have sex just to fit in or to feel welcomed. You are all special and amazing just the way you are. Hold that pride close to you! Fight no matter how many people try to take your pride away from you! We are strong, we are a family, and we will protect our pride and each other’s pride! We are a community!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My art blog is tia-draws-things.tumblr.com, and my Deviantart is talkativetiad.deviantart.com!

Trickster
Trickster

Thank you, Tia, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

