Interview: Lex RM

Today we’re joined by Lex RM.  Lex is a wonderfully talented visual artist who tends to favor a more cartoon style, but is quite versatile in her art.  Her use of color is absolutely beautiful and the characters she draws are quite expressive as you’ll soon see.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

Fluffy Foggy
Fluffy Foggy

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

It’s still a work in progress, but I’m slowly growing to love it. I’ve come a long way from where I was a few years ago, and I hope that it keeps growing like that. I have too many styles, though, and sometimes that’s good or bad! I tend to end up using little things like nose shapes or lip styles from styles that I like. I love thick border cartoon styles, and the lanky noodly body types, but I also love drawing really curvy ladies. I have a lot of variety, and it’s one of the things I like about my art!

What inspires you?

I have an inspiration tag on my Tumblr for all of the aesthetic-y posts. Most of my inspiration comes from conversations with friends, roleplaying, our OCs, or inside jokes, though. Having to go “Okay, so let me explain-” when someone flips through my sketchbook is half the fun!

Hen
Hen

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always been drawn to fine arts- I’d been drawing since I was old enough to hold a pencil, but I stopped for a while after I got discouraged and busy. I was a stage and backstage manager in high school as well as a technical worker, backdrop artist, and lighting tech, I’ve been in band since 6th grade and I’m going for my doctorate in music education. Art just sort of fits with that whole world and I guess being so involved in arts keeps me interested in actual art. I only really started getting super serious in 8th grade or 9th grade when I started getting into fine arts more and more, and now I’m involved in everything.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My signature is actually watermarked in at least 3 places in each piece. One very obvious signature, then hidden in a few other places (in various opacities) just in case someone tries to steal it. I’ll never tell where, though. 😉

Lex
Lex

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep going. Look up tutorials. Don’t be afraid to use references, they aren’t cheating! Tracing anatomy photographs and outlining the muscle groups is a good way to get a “feel” for something being right or wrong, just don’t claim them as your own, do give credit, and only use it for practice. Also, don’t stick with one thing forever! There was a few years when I only did the typical sad-boy-facing-left-¾-view and now I look back at my old sketchbooks and cringe. Don’t be afraid to try new things.

Meememe
Meememe

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’d say I’m plain old asexual panromantic right now. I haven’t had enough of a connection to anyone to determine if I’d be demi- but I wouldn’t rule it out if those circumstances with a connection happened. As of now, though, I can’t really see that happening.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really in my field, but definitely in life. I live in the southern US, so the general consensus here is “If you don’t want to please your man and have a million babies, you aren’t right.” I’ve had friends say “YOU? No.” when I told them I was ace. I’ve been threatened. I’ve been told “You will if your man wants it, you have to!” I only realized ace was a “thing” about my junior year, but even before then the fact that I didn’t want to hear about my friends’ escapades made me a “prude”. I even had to explain asexuality to my psychology professor.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That we have no emotions and can’t love anyone ever. No offense to aro-aces, you’re lovely, but I’m not one. Alloromantic aces can have romantic relationships and fall in love, get married, whatever! I had to explain that to my friend group here in college and sometimes I still think a few of them forget.

Ryan
Ryan

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You can be ace and like sex. You can be ace and be indifferent. You can be ace and be sex repulsed, but then again you can also be allosexual and sex repulsed. No one knows what you feel except you. It might be hard at first- I thought I was pan for a while until I realized there was a blurry line between “I have no preference” and “I have NO PREFERENCE”. Knowing your lack of attraction is harder than knowing who you’re attracted to. Last but not least, LABELS CAN CHANGE. If I turn out to be demi later in life, whatever. If I meet someone and I realize I’m grey, whatever. Your sexuality is fluid, so don’t feel like you have to stay linked to one label even if your feelings change. Play around with what you call yourself, and one might fit. ❤ Good luck!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

http://contrabasse.tumblr.com/commissions
http://contrabasse.tumblr.com/tagged/lexxy’s-art
I’m trying to figure out the logistics of a new Tumblr or a website, and if I do find a good fit it’ll be posted on my commissions page.

Sin
Sin

Thank you, Lex, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

