Interview: Nycto Falcone

Today we’re joined by Nycto Falcone.  Nycto is a fantastically talented visual artist who specializes in anthro-Pokemon.  She’s quite versatile and enjoys drawing a variety of things.  She works mostly in digital mediums.  The images she sent to go with the interview are absolutely beautiful.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

I'm No Good for You
I’m No Good for You

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Well, digital artwork is my main. I tend to use multiple programs for my digital illustrations and animations, such as Paint Tool Sai and Flash. I started using Clip Studio Paint recently and it is really helpful! I hope to major in animation in college.

I mainly draw anthro Pokemon characters, due to me being in several roleplay groups for them. I’m getting back into drawing other characters again, though.

What inspires you?

Music, mainly. I have to be listening to something to draw decently. That and nice scenery, like forests and cities. Movies don’t really do it for me, since they’re professionals that worked with a team, and even though it’s great and smooth, I feel animations done by single people/amateur animators give me more courage to try doing something new.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I started drawing the moment I could hold a pencil, to be honest. I couldn’t stop; drawing on the walls, furniture, any and all of my papers (including schoolwork!). It was just my life.

Map Part 35
Map Part 35

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My signature is pretty plain. Just my name, Nycto. My signature has changed a lot over time, though. I finally settled on a name for myself after several years.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t compare yourself to others!!! I had an awful habit of that (and I still do, sometimes) and it just unmotivates you. Also, practice. You don’t get better unless you do it, and it may take a lot of time! Some progress at different speeds, so don’t get discouraged just because someone may progress or do something faster than you. It’s not a race.

Mettaton
Mettaton

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Demi-Panromantic Asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Oh yeah. Always with the “you just haven’t matured yet, you’re too young to know” or “you’ll find the right person and you’ll feel it”. I’m 18 years old, I’ve been through puberty. I don’t have sexual attractions to people, and that’s the breaks.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The puberty thing. Being “late bloomers”. It’s just not that hard to realize not everyone wants to bang.

Piggy Pie
Piggy Pie

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

It’s not weird. It doesn’t make you broken or anything.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My deviantART account is where I’m most active artistically! http://haiioweens.deviantart.com/

I do post here, but I have yet to make an art blog where I post only artwork.

You're My Joan of Arc
You’re My Joan of Arc

Thank you, Nycto, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

