Interview: Aryn

Today we’re joined by Aryn, who is also known as Egg.  Aryn is a young and incredibly talented visual artist.  She tends to favor digital mediums though she also works with traditional pen and pencil.  She’s hoping to go into animation in college.  Judging from her enthusiasm and passion, we’ll see a lot from Aryn in the future.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1444755662518

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I work with digital media and traditional pencil/pen, the latter more recently. Most of the work I put out are one-off pieces due to time restraints, but I also do poster work at my business/media class in school. I have always been interested in doing animation and character design, I’m hoping to get accepted to the University of South Alabama in the fall to do such. I tend to produce a lot of fan art, seeing as most of that is the kind I’ve included, but I’ve gotten more into character design over the summer, I’m hoping to work on an animatic as soon as I get a new computer featuring one of them and one of my friend’s.

What inspires you?

For my general art, or just most creations in general, I’m inspired by shows and creations like Gravity Falls, Steven Universe, or college shorts like Welcome to Hell. I really like the different approach to reality, specifically the latter two. I like the darker stuff while still, admittedly, being feminist in approach and delivery. Which, is honestly what most of my creations involve, non-fan art wise, that is.

rdgdfgkldf

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

Oh goodness, I’ve always wanted to be an artist, most definitely. When I was younger, I would either say “artist” or “witch” when asked what I wanted to be when I grew up by teachers and family alike. I’m not really sure what got me into the field, but when I was a freshman, I remember briefly being terrified about actually going into art and switching to saying “computer programmer” despite not having a clue about it other than Tumblr themes.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Oh gosh, I generally just use my URL on Tumblr! I’ll probably switch to “egg” something, since I’ve been going by using that in my usernames more lately. Ironically, I consistently get asks on Tumblr saying “Every time I read your URL, I read “EGG.”” Which, I find funny, since it’s my nickname in real life.

1444755776206

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Practice, practice, practice. And, never give up. Just earlier this year, my art style was levels below it was now. Find a style you’re good at, then practice it, then create one of your own, branching off from it. Earlier this year, my traditional art was definitely lacking in everything other than depravitystyle headshots. I started creating original characters with my friend and discovered that I can draw in Splatoon style, which I then developed into my own. I’ve been drawing since I was five, and I’m still learning, about to graduate high school. Never give up because you think you aren’t good enough, or at a level comparable to your age or other’s art.

tumblr_nr06wl62lk1rfr0hco1_500

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Well, I’ve identified as asexual for over a year now, probably sometime of summer last year I found out more about the identity and found it fits me. I more recently, as in the past few hours of me typing this, am fully comfortable with identifying as aromantic, due to some personal happenings.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Oh gosh, aside from the general ask of, “isn’t that a plant thing, though?” not really! Once last year, at a business conference, there was a younger girl, though, she was nice and all, but despite me telling her that neither am I interested, but I have a girlfriend, at the time, and am ace, she kept saying, “Well, you’re lying about one or the other, you can’t be both!” and continued to feel me up throughout the entire thing.

1444755862348

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

“Isn’t that a plant thing?” is pretty much it! That and you have to be aromantic if you’re asexual, which, while in my case is now true, it isn’t overall.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Gosh, I only recently discovered myself to be last year! And like I said, I’m just now fully identifying as aromantic, previously demiromantic as default. Never feel bad for switching a lot, either! As a freshman, I identified as a pansexual, since it felt like a catchall, then lesbian, now ace/aro! The more you learn about yourself, the more you develop, the more you’ll change! It’s like changing your hair. I had long hair up until 9th grade, since I’ve been fluctuating the length ever since, becoming more and more comfortable with myself! And remember that just because you identified as asexual at one time, it doesn’t always continue to be true, just like every other sexuality!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

Oh gosh, mostly on my Tumblr at http://e13g.tumblr.com/! I’m pretty slow to post it anywhere else, and even then, it’s outdated. I haven’t really posted my traditionals on Tumblr as of yet, but I’m planning on making an Inktober post at the end of the month.

tumblr_ns2e70tGGk1rfr0hco1_500

Thank you, Aryn, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

