Interview: Brenna Pryor

Today we’re joined by Brenna Pryor.  Brenna is a phenomenal cosplayer and an extremely talented digital artist.  She does a lot of fanart and judging from the quality of her work, she’s an incredibly passionate artist.  My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

10996350_412633788928124_2880363370695928676_n

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art is inspired by things I love and what goes on around me. I draw things that come to mind and I draw fanart from fandoms I’m very active in. Cosplaying is also another big part of my life. I’m always finding new characters to cosplay as and the process of making the costume and wearing it proudly at conventions knowing I crafted it myself is probably one of the best feelings in the world.

What inspires you?

I am inspired by many things. I’m inspired by my friends, my boyfriend, fellow artists, my emotions, my fandoms, etc. These things keep me going with art and motivating me to never stop. My fandoms inspire my cosplaying. Every time I enter a new fandom and find a favorite character I immediately want to cosplay them and I get to work. I have many cosplays and fanart of many characters that I love.

Bipper
Bipper

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have been drawing since I was old enough to hold a pencil. I don’t really know what got me started on drawing but I could just never stop. I would draw and draw and fill up many sketchbooks. I began cosplaying when I discovered it at age 12, around the same time I discovered anime. I cosplayed L from Death Note and I really enjoyed it! My family wasn’t too keen on it though, especially since the character I was cosplaying wasn’t my gender. I was pretty torn up about it, considering my family made me quit cosplaying. I made a revival when I was about 16 and started getting serious about it at age 19. I have been an avid cosplayer ever since and have made costumes!

12118657_408309929360510_1909787435634072046_n

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I have my artist’s signature which is a PR, the initials of my tumblr URL “punkrockula”

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Never give up. Even when you feel like you should. There will be times where you may feel inadequate. You may want to quit art because you aren’t at the skill level you want to be. I’ve been there. But always keep trying. References are your friend, and practice. I know it seems like it doesn’t help, but trust me. You WILL see the difference!

Juliet
Juliet

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I am Grey-Asexual. I had a hard time figuring it out, first speculating if I was Demi-Sexual, or just fully Asexual, but discovering the existence of Grey-Ace really helped my final decision of knowing where on the Ace spectrum I belong.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I have encountered prejudice from my family and coworkers. My father told me that asexuality wasn’t real, that I was making it up or that I just wanted attention. Coworkers would just roll their eyes at me and laugh at me, saying I was only claiming to be Ace because I am still a virgin and no one would sleep with me. I’ve encountered a lot of backlash for who I am, but as far as I can tell, what they say doesn’t matter. They may think my sexuality is fake but, hey, I’m happy. And their opinion doesn’t mean anything.

12189263_1273136036045686_3652006564236144149_o

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

“You just haven’t met the right man yet” “Isn’t that just abstinence?” “Once you experience sex you’ll think otherwise” Basically anything that can be said about asexuality, I have heard. Including that I’m a terrible and selfish person and my boyfriend should break up with me because I won’t have sex with him.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You’re not broken. If you feel like you could be ace, whether it’s Demi-Sexual, Grey-Asexual, or purely Asexual or Aromantic, you aren’t broken. You’re not wrong for your sexuality, and no one can tell you otherwise. Be proud of it, and don’t listen to anyone who wants to ridicule you.

Stardust
Stardust

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

You can find my artwork here on Tumblr at punkrockula.tumblr.com/tagged/my-art

And you can find my cosplays at www.facebook.com/itsalivecosplay
Or at my Cosplay Amino: It’s Alive Cosplay
Or my Instagram: itsalivecosplay

12196178_1002612203130032_2437102257094932972_n

Thank you, Brenna, for participating in this interview and this project.  It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

