Interview: Claudia

Today we’re joined by Claudia. Claudia is a phenomenal artist who specializes in traditional mediums. She has started to branch out into digital and even dabbles in animation. If her work is anything to go by, I expect we’ll be seeing a lot more from her in the future. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

DISEÑOS 1confondo

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a traditional artist before anything. I’ve been doing digital artwork for more than 5 years but I still struggle; these past few months I’ve been trying new mediums like acrylic and watercolor, and also been trying to animate! Although I haven’t practiced the latter a lot because of the concentration I need to give it. I do mainly fan art, but I’ve been working in a couple of personal projects that I haven’t finished yet.

What inspires you?

To be honest it’s kinda difficult to put it in words. Things like cartoons and anime have and always been my main inspiration, watching the style they have and the colors and the background it makes me want to improve myself. And I guess also my friends, who are really talented and this past year has been great for them in terms of success! Like one moved to the US and been working on commissions, a couple are working together in a RedBubble store, another one designs merch for Hopeless Records; I think it helps me seeing such close friends of mine being successful in art, and makes me think I can do it too!

nsp3definitivocreotalvez

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

It may sound cliché but cartoons and anime did! Watching them as a kid shaped who I am today, and when I found out you can work in one and do your own I didn’t think of any other career I would do. I guess I’ve always wanted to be an artist, as a kid I would sell drawings in my school, and when my mom put me in an art class I didn’t want to ever leave, it felt right. I really can’t imagine me not being an artist.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

My signature it’s just my initials, CA, the A being turn into a star because I love them. I don’t have any special feature, but I’ve been told I draw hands in a very particular way? My friends say that they recognize my style by the way I draw hands.

ROSALINA COLORES
Rosalina Colores

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

I would say to always try new mediums! You don’t have to be perfect at first, just keep trying and figure out a way to be comfortable with it. Also, whatever you do, try doing it every day or a lot! Try drawing doodles in your desk at school, try writing a one shot of someone cooking, try playing that song you heard on the radio the other day by memory or search the music sheets. Also remember, not everything you do has to be a masterpiece.

sardonyxbabe
Sardonyx Babe

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m polyromantic sex-repulsed asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t, because I’m not working in an office. I’m sure I will when I do but I’m prepared for that.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Being a sex-repulsed ace, that you haven’t found the right person yet, that you can’t be in a happy relationship without sex, anything sex-related really. With being ace in general, that I can’t find anyone attractive, how can I be romantic if I’m asexual, I’m too young to know my sexuality, asexual it’s a plants thing, all that kind of stuff.

Scan0001PEAKE2

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

I say don’t let it go in your head. If you identify as asexual, then you’re asexual. Don’t let anyone tell you that you aren’t because of this or that. Also, it’s OK to go through the spectrum. And don’t feel bad if you don’t “fit” the stereotype, you don’t have to! You can experiment, and if you don’t want to it’s also OK, it’s difficult to know you’re asexual when we live in a society that makes you think you need sex for a happy relationship and that casual sex it’s wrong.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I’m very active on my Tumblr which it’s tonguetiedartist! I have an Instagram also called tonguetiedartist but I haven’t used it lately, maybe I should start using it again. I have a RedBubble store called tonguetiedart and I’ve been working in new designs so they’ll be up maybe in mid-December!

when the day met the night
When the Day met the Night

Thank you, Claudia, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

