Interview: Lynn

Today we’re joined by Lynn. Lynn is a young artist who is just starting out, but displays an incredible versatility. She dabbles in a bit of everything and shows an incredible enthusiasm for her art. The world could always use more of that and I have a feeling Lynn is an artist with a very bright future ahead of her. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

R7

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m very much an amateur in all forms of my art. I’m a singer, I’m learning how to play the drums and piano, I’m a traditional and sometimes digital artist, I love to cook and am taking a culinary class, as well as an animation class and theatre class. I love to perform and present my work. It gives me something to talk about, a way to interact with people, especially since I’m kinda shy and awkward when I don’t have a set topic. I’m young, only 16, and haven’t been doing these things for very long, so I’m nowhere near professional level in any of these categories, but I absolutely love doing these things. Being an artist is absolutely my passion, and I even plan on learning video game design in the future.

What inspires you?

It depends on which medium you’re referring to. When it comes to acting, my friends who build me up and I courage me are my inspiration, when it comes to singing, it’s the songs I love that drive me, traditional and digital art comes from seeing other people’s works, talking to my friends about shows and movies we enjoy that give me a picture in my head that I want to draw.

2015-11-17 13.58.54

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

My dad is a musician; a professional pianist. He mostly used to play at churches and do arrangements of songs for church bands and big companies, but since he was fired from Christ Fellowship in Florida after nine years of working there, things got a bit shaky and he was less constant with it. He still plays at churches sometimes and arranges music, but now he’s mostly doing gigs with a band called Southern Sky. My dad (and my mom who is a beautiful singer) got me into music and I love it.

I’ve always been drawing as far as I know, but it wasn’t until around 9th grade that I started actually getting good at it. I was mostly mimicking anime styles, though, but it wasn’t until around mid 9th grade to 10th grade (I’m an 11th grader now) that I started developing my own styles and started getting into more western cartoonish styles. Animated shows and movies are definitely my biggest inspiration for traditional and digital art, and the reason why I aspire to be an animator.

And as ashamed as I am to say it, anime dubs are the reason I wanted to get into acting in the first place. At least as far as I can remember. I wanted to be a dub actress for a while, so I took a theatre class my freshman year and actually performed Fiddler on the Roof that same year. (I was Tzeitel.) Do I still want to be a dub actress? Not so much now. I love theatre, I love performing in front of people, I love expressing and projecting – something you can’t really do in voice over works. They’re very different mediums.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I do not unfortunately, unless you count the style in which I draw as a feature.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Never stop. Whatever it is you’re passionate about, even if you’re horrible at it, you just keep practicing. Talk to people who are better than you, get advice and feedback from peers, and if you get insults, you take them and you make your work better. In my experience, even though being told “That’s fantastic!” or “You were great!” feels really good, being told “You need to improve x y and z” is more beneficial and helps you grow more as an artist. I’ll tell you the truth, I’d rather be praised than criticized, but the more you’re criticized now, the more you’ll grow, the more praise you’ll get in the future.

https%3A%2F%2F33.media.tumblr.com%2F092d57ce9841b9a3a8c1817cf624ee5a%2Ftumblr_inline_ny6qckqZ401tpouuu_500

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

100% asexual, and I’m also aromantic.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

No, not really. I’m not really out though, and no one really talks about asexuality so I just kinda let it be.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I’ve never been through this personally, but I imagine the most common misconception is that asexuals are lonely, asexuals are bitter, asexuals just need to get laid, that crap. And I’m sure there are plenty of asexuals that are bitter and lonely, but that’s not because they’re asexual.

2015-11-28 16.04.10

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Being acespec can be hard. You’re dealing with questioning yourself, wondering if there’s something wrong, asking why you’re not getting what sexual attraction feels like or why everyone’s so hypersexualized and why everyone’s sexualizing themselves and that’s okay. Being any sexual orientation other than straight is really hard, and there are people out there who seek out ways to put you down, but as long as you keep faith in yourself and trust that other acespecs have your back, it makes feeling the way you do a lot easier and I’m here for you.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I tend to post most of my stuff on my blog, papyrus-throw-me-a-bone.tumblr.com, but not all that often. Sometimes I spam people with drawings though and ask for drawing suggestions, but it’s mostly memes and social justice….

2015-11-18 20.33.46

Thank you, Lynn, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

