Interview: Rebecca

Today we’re joined by Rebecca. Rebecca is an amazing and versatile artist who sent along some truly beautiful pictures to go with her interview. She’s a visual artist who works with digital mediums. Rebecca is also a very productive writer who specializes in the speculative genres: fantasy, sci-fi, cyberpunk, and steampunk. She is truly a passionate artist. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

android girl
Android Girl

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a digital artist and writer. My artwork is mostly created with Paint Tool SAI – I use a Wacom Intuos tablet for illustration work and a Cintiq for comic work. Most of my art is of my original characters and I like to work with bold, sharp lines and bright colours.

The novels I write tend to fall into the fantasy, steampunk and sci-fi genres. My current project, Wired, is a cyberpunk story about an android living undercover among humans and those who are sent to track him down.

What inspires you?

Everything! I know a lot of comic artists who I’ve been fortunate enough to meet in person at conventions and it’s always really motivating to see their work grow and watch them improve. I often get ideas from music too – just one line in a song could inspire a full illustration – along with fashion and books.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I’ve always wanted to be an artist for as long as I can remember, along with wanting to be a writer. I was set on being a professional artist until I attempted freelance work for a year and realised it wasn’t for me. I’m not the kind of person who can churn out drawings constantly without losing motivation. So now I work on my art and writing in my spare time and find it works out a lot better for me.

Decay
Decay

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not particularly. My signature has always just been my initials because I’ve never thought of a good alias for my work!

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t compare yourself to others. Everyone else struggles with their work as much as you do and everyone learns at their own pace. Turn envy into motivation. Also, practice! Yes, it can be boring drawing the same thing over and over, but it will pay off in the long run.

Dorian
Dorian

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Aromantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not intentional prejudice, but a lot of people who just don’t understand and ask questions that aren’t really appropriate. I’ve also been told I’ll change my mind when I’m older – so many times it’s become tedious. I’m 24 – I’m not sure how much older they want me to be before my identity is seen as valid.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it’s just ‘an excuse for people who can’t get laid’. And that makes me want to tear my hair out in frustration. Asexuality is the simplest concept and yet so many people can’t – or don’t want to – understand it.

Either that, or that we’re all plants.

wyntercon poster blank
Wyntercon Poster

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You are valid, and there’s nothing wrong with you. I only discovered asexuality was a ‘thing’ after the AVEN group popped up on my Facebook news feed because one of my friends was a member. That was only a couple of years ago and I wish I’d found it sooner. Do your research and discuss it with people you feel it’s safe to talk about it with – it’s such a relief to finally find a community you fit in with.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My main website –  http://rb-illustration.co.uk
Tumblr – http://rb-illustration.tumblr.com
Facebook – http://facebook.com/rbillustrationart
YouTube – http://youtube.com/rbillustration

Egyptian girl colour final
Egyptian Girl

Thank you, Rebecca, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

