Interview: Laura

Today we’re joined by Laura, who also goes by Nymph. Laura is a phenomenal visual artist and a fanartist. She is currently working on a massive original work that sounds absolutely incredible. Laura does a lot of fanart but is also quite passionate about her original characters. I seriously can’t get over her masterful use of color. The images she sent along draw the eye and you have trouble looking away. Which is good because they’re quite beautiful. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

aaa
Original Characters

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

Most of my work ends up being fanart, though I have a couple OCs and an original story I’m hoping to work on (someday) … One of my favourite things to work with is ink + markers, but recently I’ve been doing more digital work. With digital, I’ve scanned traditional pieces before colouring digitally, and I’ve also done stuff from scratch. Some of my favourite things to do with digital art are pixel art and animation!

This November I participated in Huevember, which was a fantastic experience for me … I made (over) 30 pieces, some of which were shitty, but some of which were great! I tested out so many new things and became much more comfortable with digital art in general.

Right now I’m in the middle of a huge project I started sometime in … July of this year, I think. Started out with traditional ink, now I’m in the process (the insanely long process) of digitally colouring 9 different pictures. Well, I brought this on myself, really…

What inspires you?

Fandoms, mostly. Manga, I guess? There’s so much amazing art out there, so many amazing artists… Also, I often just get caught up in feelings about fictional characters and have to draw everything.

In terms of my OCs, a lot of it is just random thoughts and also hoping to represent marginalized groups. In my original story (still not ready to actually come out into the world), two out of eighteen important characters are heterosexual. Wow. One of my 3 main characters is asexual aromantic, and another important character is asexual quoioromantic/wtfromantic.

Chrysocolla
Chrysocolla

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

When I was younger, I started reading manga. I loved it so much, I thought all manga was beautiful. I wanted to draw so badly, I started trying to draw when I was maybe 10 or so … I’ve always wanted to be an artist, I think. Not necessarily as a profession, but I’ve always wanted to create art. For quite a while last year I really really wanted to get into an architecture uni program, but my hopes were dashed- I’m just happy drawing art for myself and fandom (it would be nice to get paid though)

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

You’ve come to the wrong girl for that – I don’t even have a style I just … do things . . . different things … mysterious things … spoopy

Cool art tip: if you don’t know how to do something and are worried you’ll mess up … do it anyway. If you really mess up, well you messed up. Who cares? Do better next time. Or, you can usually bullshit your way through anything and pretend that the end result was your intended result. That’s my secret method.

Hatters finish2
Hatters

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Make stuff! Make your art, about whatever you really like! Even if when you grow up you look back and groan, when you make art you’ll feel really happy and proud of yourself! The most important thing is that you make art that makes you happy. If you want to practice and practice and try to get better, that’s great! But always remember that your art is for YOU!

huevember9A

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Okay, I’m asexual aromantic but BOY do I have a funny story to tell you. When I was younger, I noticed “hey, I feel the exact same towards both boys and girls. If I wanted to have sex I guess I’d have sex with either of them? I guess that means I’m bisexual?” and then I realized “wait, boys are ugly. They aren’t pretty at all. So I guess I’m a lesbian??” and basically I just kinda sat there and said okay, so I’m a lesbian. These misconceptions had absolutely no affect on my life, until I finally realized, “huh. I’m ace-aro”. Everything was very chill in me-land.

Also, before I realized that I was ace-aro … I didn’t even realize that romantic/sexual feelings were a real thing. I was literally the “sounds fake … but OK” meme, except I thought that everyone around me was pretending to be ‘in love’ or ‘attracted’ based off of fictional romance. I seriously didn’t realize that there was an actual emotion/feeling involved, I just thought everyone picked a person who was aesthetically pleasing and not a total asshole, and then acted ‘in love.’

huevember30
Chart of art done for the month of November

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Mmmm not yet? I feel like it might happen eventually, but so far I’m kinda obscure and tiny so it’s not like anyone cares what I am. But if someone was just ignorant, I’d try to set them straight and give them some resources on the topic. If someone tried to bother me (on Tumblr, particularly), I’d just block them.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That it ‘doesn’t exist’ or that it’s ‘not a real thing’ or that ‘aces are hetero’. And it’s just like. Ding dong you are wrong. How about you go take a long fall off a tall object k thx bye

knives
Knives

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

You’re not alone! And your feelings are valid, your experiences are valid. It’s hard to stop listening to people who tell you that you are wrong, but change your focus. Do something new. And there are so many people who are so welcoming and kind in the ace community.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I’m at http://rubynymph.tumblr.com/ as well as https://twitter.com/rubynymphy and http://rubynymphe.deviantart.com/

Out of these three, my Twitter gets the most WIPs, but I also tend to talk a lot on it. I don’t even post all my art on DeviantArt.

Tumblr is the happy medium, with only a little bit of talking/reblogging, and all my finished pieces with a little bit of WIPs.

Lyssa Black and White
Lyssa Black and White

Thank you, Laura, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

