Interview: Harper

Today we’re joined by Harper. Harper is a young up and coming writer who has had a piece of flash fiction published. Her enthusiasm for the art of writing is positively infectious and it’s very obvious this writer has a very bright future. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m a writer, so my art is mostly word- related. My most recent projects are all about LGBT+ issues, including asexuality. I use my writing to try to bring to light things that not everyone knows about and also look at things in a different light.

What inspires you?

I get inspired by music. Something about the composition of notes that make sound that can make humans feel emotions just inspires me to do the same with my writing. I also draw inspiration from people and the world around me, including other art and writing. People’s personal stories are also really inspiring – whether they’re happy or sad, hopeful or tragic – someone else has lived that much and seen that much. So I guess my answer would have to be everything inspires me.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I wrote my first song when I was about 2. I just kept writing – songs, poems, stories. It eventually turned into both something I loved and something that I was good at. My mom was an English teacher, so I was always around literature, and my grandma insisted on reading to me as a kid. I’d have to say that just being around stories and books made me want to make those myself.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in our work that you’d be willing to reveal?

A lot of my writing involves Volkswagen Beetles or Bugs. When I was a kid, my aunt had this bright blue Volkswagen and it was my favorite thing in the universe. She recently scrapped it, so I try to keep the Bug alive.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Keep going! I’m a young aspiring artist myself and I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter what other people say – if you love it, do it. Keep practicing, enter competitions, show off your artwork and writing! People will see that you’re amazing and they’ll support you more. Just keep going. It’s totally valid to want to be in the arts and there are a lot of great schools out there for the arts. You’re amazing, and practice can only make you better!

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as panromantic asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Actually, other than lack of ace characters in literature, I don’t feel there’s a prejudice towards me personally. But with the lack of characters is a great feeling of ignorance – any “asexual” that’s on TV must be fixed, because if you don’t want sex, you’re broken, right? Or they’re suppressing it, which is more bad representation. I’ve taken it upon myself to get at least a little awareness out there so that this isn’t as big of a deal.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Where do I begin? Probably that asexuals cannot love. That was the first thing I heard from the first person I came out to. It perpetuated and it’s frustrating.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Just let it happen. Think about it, but if you don’t necessarily find a label that fits this moment, it’s okay to not use one. If you feel asexual, then you can say you’re asexual. Sexuality is fluid and everything will be fine.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My writing blog – http://wordsaswarriors.tumblr.com/. You can also find a flash fic of mine, “Colors,” at artandwriting.org.

Thank you, Harper, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

