Interview: Mirror

Today we’re joined by Mirror. Mirror is an amazing up and coming writer who specializes in blending sci-fi and fantasy. Her work features a lot of diverse characters and sounds really fantastic. She’s obviously an incredibly enthusiastic writer and her work sounds fantastic. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art is writing. I love to write, and I have ever since I was a young girl. I specialize in Sci-Fi and Fantasy, most of the time blending the two with some Catholic undertones for good measure.

What inspires you?

This may sound a tiny bit cliché, but space itself inspires me. I look out into the the universe, and I need to write. The emptiness of space, trying to imagine the reality of a star soundlessly burning for billions of years in the near infinite void of space…it inspires me. My religion, too, gives me a lot to write about, especially angels.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

All my English classes as a school kid fostered my interest, but before I decided to pursue writing, I wanted to be an astronomer.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Dragons are always in my stories in some form or fashion. For me, they symbolize infinity.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Don’t put yourself in a box. Everyone always told me that I had to write about certain things because I’m an African American woman. They’re wrong. Your only limit is your imagination.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as a bi-romantic asexual

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not in my field, luckily.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

Most people I’ve encountered just don’t think that it’s possible to even be asexual, so overcoming that disbelief is the hardest part.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

My advice would be to stay true to yourself. I know that sounds way corny, but it’s true. I didn’t accept my orientation until I was married and had two young kids, and when I tell you that I haven’t encountered anything so difficult in my life, believe it. There is a great amount of pain in being yourself around those who don’t like certain aspects of who you are, but what hurts infinitely more is betraying yourself to make someone else happy. Don’t do it.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

If you find yourself interested in stars that turn into dragons and travel through space or in angels who come down from heaven to help humans (mainly POC) fight evil, then check out my blog timelordmirror on Tumblr.

Thank you, Mirror, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

