Interview: Oliver

Today we’re joined by Oliver. Oliver is an absolutely fantastic poet. He shows an an amazing talent with words and his poems are positively beautiful. It’s a pleasure to feature him on this site. My thanks to him for taking the time to participate in this interview.

WIN_20151112_23_36_59_Pro

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I’m an author. I mostly write poems, though.

What inspires you?

Pretty much anything! Sometimes I’ll see a random piece of paper on the ground and I’ll be like “Ooh, I have to write about this!” Other times it’s naturally poetic things, like the way sunlight tangles in someone’s hair.

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

My mum! When I was around 6, I would complain to my mum about how “the thoughts never stop.” I had severe anxiety and thought way too much about everything. She suggested putting them down on paper.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not really!

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Believe in yourself. I know that sounds cheesy. But when someone compliments your work, say “Thank you!” Don’t dismiss it with a “No, it’s really not that great.” I promise it is.

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as a sex repulsed asexual.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Yep. I’ve had many people tell me that asexuality doesn’t exist, or, my personal favorite: “It’s okay, you don’t have to call yourself asexual just because you’re too ugly to get d**k.” I usually just provide them with facts to show them why they’re incorrect.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

That being asexual is the same as being aromantic! Aromantics are great (I’m actually on the aro spectrum) and so are asexuals, but they’re not the same!

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Don’t listen to other people. You determine your sexuality, not anyone else. If you say you’re asexual, you’re asexual.

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My Tumblr! My Tumblr is stopfrnkiero2k15.tumblr.com. My poetry tag is stopfrnkiero2k15.tumblr.com/tagged/my-poetry.

Thank you, Oliver, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a comment