Interview: Sini

Today we’re joined by Sini. Sini is an amazing, versatile artist who dabbles in a number of different mediums. She enjoys watercolors and paints beautiful scenery. Sini also really enjoys doing various crafts and specializes in three-dimensional ones, as you’ll see. She’s a very passionate artist who enjoys what she does. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

day5place copy2

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

My art has a lot of variability, I really like to try different things. Watercolors are still the medium I use most and I love painting sceneries and backgrounds. Lately I have been practicing digital art with my first drawing tablet.

I like to do both original art and fan art of various fandoms.

I also really like to do three dimensional crafts, mostly with polymer or silk, clay and needle felting.

What inspires you?

Many things inspire me but I get a lot of inspiration from nature. Other inspiring things are books, videogames, TV-series, animation, other people’s art, photography etc.

paltamossa4
Paltamossa

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I have always drawn and liked to create things. I suppose that a lot of children like to draw but only some continue doing it, especially after school ends. I don’t have any kind of artistic degree, I’m just a hobbyist but sometimes I wonder if it would be nice to have a job that has something to do with art.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Hmm, I don’t know. I often like to think a short story behind every original picture I do, even if I only use that character once.

I signature my work just using first letters of my first and last name.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Practice! No matter what you do, practice is important. If you do visual art it is good to know how to draw correct anatomy even if you don’t draw figures. (I know that I should do it more)

Also, draw what you like, do what you enjoy doing.

sauna1
Sauna

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

Right now, heteroromantic grey asexual or something similar.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

Not really but I have really spoken about it with couple of people. I have never cared very much what my sexuality is. Later I started to think that I might be some kind of asexual because I never cared about it. That is why I don’t even care to speak about it, it simply doesn’t matter much to me. My mother said that she would be a bit disappointed if I never found anybody.

yveltal
Yveltal

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

You haven’t found the right one yet is common. My favorite is that one of my teachers from school told us that everybody has sexuality, they might be hetero- or homosexual but everybody is sexual. It was years ago now, but I didn’t like it back then either. I think that teachers who teach health education should know more.

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

We are what we are. Any kind of orientation isn’t unnatural. Most of it can happen in other animals than humans too.

wasteland2
Wasteland

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

My DeviantArt page has more of crafts and older works. http://halwen.deviantart.com/

Tumblr blog has more fanart and quicker drawings. http://kivihattu.tumblr.com/

silkclaylohis
Silk Clay Lohis

Thank you, Sini, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

