Interview: Megan

Today we’re joined by Megan, who also goes by PharaohsThrone and Chelle Cosplay. Megan is an incredibly enthusiastic fanartist who is quite versatile. She writes, draws, and does a lot of cosplaying. Judging from her interview (and the beautiful pictures she sent to go with it), she really loves what she does. That’s always wonderful to read. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

12010564_763679200426426_5816436224106812351_o

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I have been cosplaying, writing and drawing for the past few years. I’ve always had a need to be creative, so any medium to do so I’ve wanted to try. All of it has been the product of fandom, which has then made me want to expand onto my own original ideas, which are still growing, and I’m really happy with what I’ve achieved over the last few years. I still have a lot that I can improve on, but I thoroughly enjoy every part of it.

What inspires you?

Other artists. Whether it’s seeing the cosplay competitions at conventions, or reading one of my favourite stories, or seeing some brilliant fanart – it will make me want to create. Usually when I see someone is doing a live stream, I’ll have it open while I’m drawing because it just gives me a lot of motivation. Also the idea that I want to bring what’s in my head to life, so I can share it with others.

Determined
Determined

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I always admired people who could write and draw well when I was in school, but I never really amused the idea that I could try it myself until a few years ago, when I was drawn into anime and wanted to start creating things for my favourite characters and such. I wanted to write about them, draw my own version of them, and cosplay as them, and from there it just kinda grew

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

Not really with my writing or drawing, but recently with my cosplays, because a lot of my favourite characters are males, I’ve been doing fem versions of them and am going to continue doing so because it means I can do my own twist on the design, and it turns out a lot better. I always enjoy the process of “would they have long hair? How would their outfit differ?” etc.

12487109_10153405440586376_417149303863983883_o

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Whatever it is that you do, try and create something as often as you can. Also don’t get down on yourself when you’re having a bad creative day. I get writers block and days where whatever talent I thought I had just disappears, and that’s okay. Sometimes you just need to keep trying, and others maybe you need a break, but always come back to it. As they say, practice makes perfect.

Evil Yuya
Evil Yuya

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I’m still trying to figure out exactly where I am on the spectrum. Definitely ace, but possibly borderlining on sex repulsed, but still sex positive? Yeah idk let’s just go with ace.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

I haven’t really experienced that much prejudice or ignorance simply because I don’t feel the need to share the fact that I’m asexual with people. Because I am dating an allosexual though, my friends seemed to have some sort of an idea, and my only problem is that they like to turn our somewhat non-existent sex life into a joke, which is frustrating.

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 11.06.41 AM

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

The idea that there was something wrong with me. My boyfriend even did it at first, saying that I should see a doctor or a psychologist. Then the idea that my lack of sexual attraction and drive was because there was something wrong with him, that he wasn’t good enough. It’s a never ending circle.

Levi redraw [edit]
Levi
What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

Sometimes it can be really hard accepting that you’re asexual, and it takes time to come to terms with it. It never happens overnight, just like any kind of orientation, but take things one step at a time, and try to remember that there is nothing wrong with you. Don’t let anyone try to force you into ‘fixing’ anything. There are plenty of wonderful people and lots of information out there that can help, and it does not by any means mean you have no hope at a relationship. You are valid, and you do matter.

12622472_923623021066864_4364644759735734372_o

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I pretty much post all my writing and drawing on Tumblr (pharaohsthrone.tumblr.com) and I have a cosplay page on Facebook (www.facebook.com/chellecosplay) I also have a DeviantArt account which I post my better stuff on (http://pharaohs-throne.deviantart.com)

Vanessa sword paint
Vanessa Sword

Thank you, Megan, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

