Interview: Robyn

Today we’re joined by Robyn. Robyn is a phenomenal artist who dabbles in visual arts but is most passionate about crafts. She’s an engineering student as well. Robyn is incredibly enthusiastic about sewing and designing sewing patterns, which are quite amazing to look at. She’s an artist with a wonderful amount of love for her art and that’s always great to read. My thanks to her for taking the time to participate in this interview.

1

WORK

Please, tell us about your art.

I love many types of craftyness! I’ve done a lot of knitting, crocheting, drawing and painting but I think my favorite is sewing and make sewing patterns. I’m currently an engineering student and I think it’s really cool how much my pattern design process matches up with the engineering design process I’m learning about in class. I always research similar projects other people have made, plan out which features I want to include, figure out what size everything needs to be, choose suitable materials, put it together all with a good deal of troubleshooting and problem solving along the way.

What inspires you?

In sewing it is usually my need for a certain finished product that inspires me to design it. When I paint I usually paint landscapes of places I’ve been. I really love hiking, nature and the outdoors and I find those images to be very calming.

4

What got you interested in your field?  Have you always wanted to be an artist?

I think I’ve always really liked making things. I first started sewing and knitting when I was probably nine or ten and progressed from there, mostly self-taught. My mom knows how to sew and knit so I would sometimes ask her if for help when needed. When I was younger I took a few art classes in painting and drawing. I took an art class in high school that got into acrylic painting. I had previously done some watercolor but found acrylic to be a way better fit for me because I can have more accuracy mixing colors as well as go back and fix things/add fine details without it getting messy.

Do you have any kind of special or unique signature, symbol, or feature you include in your work that you’d be willing to reveal?

I don’t have any snazzy symbol though that would be cool! I sometimes embroider a few words into a sewing project but that’s not a consistent symbol.

What advice would you give young aspiring artists?

Work in whatever medium you’re interested in at the time. I go through phases where I’m really into one type of art and I pretty much only work on that for a few months then don’t do it again for a while and that’s OK. I think the most important thing is that you enjoy it.

2

ASEXUALITY

Where on the spectrum do you identify?

I identify as asexual. I’m not too sure about my romantic orientation right now but I somewhat identify with bi, quioro and aroflux.

Have you encountered any kind of ace prejudice or ignorance in your field?  If so, how do you handle it?

The combination of art and asexuality has never really come up in my life before so no.

What’s the most common misconception about asexuality that you’ve encountered?

I think there’s just a general unfamiliarity with asexuality. I have tried explaining it to a few friends with mixed success. For some friends I think it was the first time they had heard of asexuality and they also didn’t really ask any questions so I’m not sure what misconceptions they have. But I’ve also found out some of my friends are ace too so that’s pretty great!

5

What advice would you give to any asexual individuals out there who might be struggling with their orientation?

To me, figuring out your orientation is finding words that fit your emotions so you can express/explain yourself to others. But feelings are messy so it’s usually not as easy as you’d like it to be. It may feel like nobody knows about asexuality since it’s rarely talked about it but it’s still valid and you’re not alone!! Also, you don’t have to hesitate to identify as ace because you’re “not old enough”. It may at some point change and it may not, but either way it’s okay!

Finally, where can people find out more about your work?

I have a blog with a lot of my projects on it: https://craftybirdy.wordpress.com/ I’m planning to start an etsy with ace pride hats and headbands soon but I haven’t started it quite yet.

3

Thank you, Robyn, for participating in this interview and this project. It’s very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

